Keep Calm and (fill in the blank)

Hey there everyone! I thought I’d take the chance today to educate you about the “Keep Calm” campaign. Ready for a quick lesson? Good, I thought so. Oh, and there will be a pop quiz at the end of today’s post, so listen up!

The original quote is “Keep Calm and Carry On.” According to Wikipedia, the slogan was on a poster printed by the British government in 1939. (Think WW2.) They hoped the poster would raise the morale of the British people in the event of an invasion. However, it was not well-distributed, and therefore not well-known.

Fastforward to the year 2000. The poster was rediscovered and then repurposed / reworded into the phrases we see today.

I don’t remember when I first saw a poster with this phrase, but I’ve liked it for a while now. (Target even had a collection with this theme…how bummed am I that I didn’t get any of the pieces?!) The original poster had a crown, and since I fancy myself as somewhat of a princess, I have this thing for crowns. I also like the big blocks of color and simply stated words. What’s not to love?

When I decided to start a blog, there was the all-important decision of what the name would be. I tried out others, but they were either taken or just…not good. I remembered this phrase and thought…how cute! I’ll try that! It was taken…strike 1! So the next most popular phrase is “Keep Calm & Eat Cupcakes”…I love cupcakes…perfect! But no…strike 2!

Then in a flash of genius (brilliance, excellence, choose the adjective that you like best), I changed it up into something that I’d never seen before – Keep Calm & Love On! No, no, I’m not saying I created that saying…I’ve since seen it other places. I’m just saying I hadn’t seen it plastered all over merchandise.

It ended up being absolutely perfect for me. This blog is all about the craziness of my life: marriage to this crazy hunk of a man, puppy love with my first house dog Huxley, surviving Kindergarten, etc. etc. Sometimes it’s all I can do to KEEP CALM. And as for the LOVE ON? It’s what I try to do through it all. I want to live a life that is full of love for the people around me, and I want to show love through my actions.

And so, in keeping with my theme, I try to end every post with a coordinating “Keep Calm & ________.” It’s fun!

Wanna see some more fun stuff? Check out these variations of the poster…I’ve already written posts about some of these!

Any Harry Potter fans out there?!

Of course there’s one of these with an electric guitar on it, but this one is more my style. 🙂

My favorite superhero was always the dark knight…Batman!

This next one is just cute…I like how they changed the font to match the concept…

I would “southernize” this next one and make the picture look like a big glass of sweet tea…

If everyone would do a little more of this next one, the world would be a better place.

 I love the Sherlock Holmes feel of this next one…

I was just telling my mom the other day that there is a reason why God gave me big feet. It’s because otherwise I would be a shoe glutton.

Who wouldn’t love to carry their lunch in this cute little sack?!

This next one makes me wish I had a cute bike to ride around the neighborhood. Hux could sit in the basket.

I’m not good at accents, but I think they are fun to try. And this one is very appropriate for today’s post!

I’d love to do more of this next one…maybe once we win the lottery. 🙂

Anybody else out there love taking pictures. Ah yes, that’s what I thought. Then you’ll LOVE this next one…

I love this next one…but like teaching blogs, there are enough crafting blogs out there to convince me that I’m not really qualified to call myself “crafty.”

I personally subscribe to this next one. It’s working out well for me.

I’m also a big fan of the next one. Shout out to my Huxley baby!

Wouldn’t this one be sweet hanging at Christmas?

Haha…remember my “Bringin’ Home the Bacon” post? Wish I would have known then that this poster existed…

Girls. Love. Chocolate. <therefore> Girls. Love. This poster.

And finally…kudos to my favorite new hobby…

So now I want to here from YOU. I want you to fill in the blank & make up your own “Keep Calm” slogan & post it in my comment box below. I think it will be fun to hear from all of ya’ll, and who knows…maybe your slogan will inspire a new post on my blog!

Oh and one more thing. One more teeny, tiny favor to ask of you. I would LOVE IT if you would also change your facebook status to your new “Keep Calm” quote, along with a link to my blog. We’ve got a good thing going here, so let’s share the love!

(*the link: https://keepcalmandloveon.wordpress.com )

KEEP CALM & ______________

 

Categories: Blog Business | Tags: | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Keep Calm and (fill in the blank)

  1. Re'Genna Gamblin

    Come on…fess up! You were never the princess, always the “Queen”, thus the infatuation for crowns. Worked out well for us didn’t it :), Love from the Queen Mother….Keep calm and reign on!

  2. Re'Genna Gamblin

    Correction….Love from the “Queen Mum”….keeping with the British theme.

  3. Keep Calm & Laugh On!

  4. Alexis

    Keep Calm & Wine On!!! (as in drink wine!) =)

  5. Well, you know what my “fill in the blank” would be………… “Keep Calm & Sew On”…. or of course there’s “Keep Calm & Quilt On”. But here’s my favorite………. “Keep Calm & Love Your Daughter-in-Law” (now that doesn’t mean that it’s a job to love you, it’s sew (LOL) easy!)

    Praying for your first week back at school, so therefore that brings me to another one…. “Keep Calm & Pray On”.

    Okay, enough. Hugs!!!

  6. My fill in the blanks…
    Keep Calm and Dance On
    Keep Calm and Expelliarmus! (LOVE HARRY POTTER! Thanks for that little mention (;
    I like the blog idea- very original, and themey!
    x

  7. Pingback: Blog Stats « keepcalmandloveon

  8. I love keep calm! It’d awesomely!!

  9. Maaryam_aliiyu

    Keep calm and love iron man

  10. Pingback: Keep calm and carry on « Britain « furtherandfaster

  11. keepcalm

    I say keep calm and facebook on

  12. Sidii

    keep calm and love kall

  13. Flan

    I have a shirt that says “keep calm and grow a mustache”!

  14. Pia Taylo

    So funny

  15. Desyre

    Keep Calm And Love Desyre (Me) lol

  16. hjjh

    keep calm and love dogs!!

  17. Keep calm and love ultan

  18. Wimsica

    Keep Calm. I am Iron man

  19. bob da builder

    I love these

  20. rosebud

    Wow! It is really nice. I download some pictures. Thanks 🙂

  21. MINH THU

    Keep calm & Love One Direction

  22. Alianna Ealy

    Keep Calm and Love Mindless Behavior!!!!!!

  23. Keep calm and love Alabbas(Arda)

  24. Thanks for writing “Keep Calm and (fill in the blank) ”.
    I personallymight certainly end up being coming back for a lot more reading and writing comments shortly.
    I am grateful, Eugenia

  25. i like ‘keep calm and wait for Peeta’s shirtless scene” 😀

  26. china

    i would say “keep calm and love god”

  27. keep calm & love chanda

  28. Nancy Ledesma

    Keep Calm And Love VAMPIRE DIARIES!! ❤

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!