Bible in a year

How is it that I’m just now getting around to this? I was much more consistent at reading through my Bible last year than I have been when it comes to blogging about it. 😛 For this post I thought I would go through and share a few of the passages that were meaningful to me as I read through the text. I won’t be able to include references beyond the book since the translation I used was the Message, so heads up on that. 🙂

We’ll think of it as a “walk down memory lane” for me, and hopefully as an encouragement to you.

Hebrews

Stay on good terms with each other, held together by love. Be ready with a meal or a bed when it’s needed. Why, some have extended hospitality to angels without every knowing it! Regard prisoners as if you were in prison with them. Look on victims of abuse as if what happened to them had happened to you. Honor marriage, guard the sacredness of sexual intimacy between wife and husband. God draws a firm line against casual and illicit sex. Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have.

Romans

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life – your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking around life – and place it before God as an offering.

Don’t become to well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking.

The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us, not by what we are and what we do for him.

Love from the center of who you are; don’t fake it. / Be good friends who love deeply; practice playing second fiddle. / Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality. / Laugh with you happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. / Discover beauty in everyone.

Don’t run up debts, except for the huge debt of love you owe each other.

Deuteronomy

Be strong. Take courage. Don’t be intimidated. Don’t give <them> a second thought because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; He won’t leave you.

1 Corinthians

I do want to point out, friends, that time is of the essence. There is no time to waste, so don’t complicate your lives unnecessarily. Keep it simple – in marriage, grief, joy, whatever. Even in ordinary things – your daily routines of shopping, and so on. Deal as sparingly as possible with the things the world thrusts on you. This world as you see it is on its way out.

Isaiah

He energizes those who get tired, gives fresh strength to dropouts, For even young people who tire and drop out, young folk in their prime stumble and fall. But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.

Ezekial

But Ezekial saw God at work in a catastrophic era. He showed them that, yes, there was a catastrophe, but God was at work in the catastrophe, sovereignly using it. He showed them so that they would be able to embrace God in the worst of times. Ezekial showed them that God was and would be at work in the wreckage and rubble, sovereignly using the disaster to create a new people of God. God’s people emerged from that catastropic century robust and whole.

Proverbs

Hatred starts fights, but love pulls a quilt over the bickering.

********************************************************

There was so, soooo much more….but I thought instead of me typing it all out for you, you should go read it for yourself! Of course the whole book of Psalms was so good…I tagged lots of chapters there…as well as lots of the new testament texts. The biggest surprise for me as I read was how much I enjoyed the stories from the old testament…hearing them in a new and fresh way made them so interesting!

Reading through the Bible was an incredible journay…one I hope to take many times in my life. I am excited to start reading through a new translation that is broken down into family-style devotionals, so I hope to do it each night with Chris before we call it a night.

So what about you…what are your reading lately?

KEEP CALM & READ YOUR BIBLE!

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bible in a year

  1. I knew there was quilting in the Bible!!!! 🙂 Dan and I, too, have read through the NLT last year. We are doing it again, but this time using the Chronological NLT. I love, love, love this version. Keep up the good work, sweet girl. We love you!

  2. Pingback: 30 by 30. | Blessed is She

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

