Old Love

It’s not like you haven’t heard it before now…but just because I love love, I’m going to say it again. 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂 I’ve had a pretty lovely day…we had fun with candy at school, enjoyed a great “Minute to Win It” party, and were spoiled by PTO with a delicious luncheon. I came home to surprise roses from the husband and not a lot on my agenda (although I quickly filled it up with dog grooming and bill paying and house cleaning and laundry…but such is the life of a wife!) Once I hit publish my plan is to soak in the tub and not feel guilty that I ate cookies and cake and chocolate covered strawberries instead of running on the treadmill today. 🙂 I hope your day as been wonderful as well. 🙂

A few of my pretties from the day!

vday1

This was my favorite card from a student…he made it especially for me!

vday

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I wanted to share a poem from a book I’ve been reading recently with a group at church. It’s called “Intimacy Ignited” by Dr. Joseph & Linda Dillow and Dr. Peter and Lorraine Pintus. The authors break down Song of Solomon, and it gets pretty steamy. (On a side note, I never really understood what was going on in that book of the Bible, but my eyes have been opened. Oh my. And also, so cool that God includes a “guidebook” for sex in His Holy Word!)

I found this poem particularly touching, so much so that I wrote it in Chris’ Valentines card. He thought I was calling him old :P…but really I was trying to convey how thankful I am that I get to grow old with him. I hope it touches your heart as well, and that you find your “old love.”

The Beauty of Old Love

Is there anything more beautiful in life than a

boy and a girl clasping clean hands

and pure hearts in the path of marriage?

Can there be anything more beautiful than young love?

Yes, there is a more beautiful thing.

The sight of an old man and an old woman

who have walked the path of marriage for a lifetime.

Their hands are gnarled but still clasped;

their faces are seamed but still radiant;

their hearts are physically bowed and tired

but still strong with love and devotion for one another.

Yes, there is a more beautiful thing than young love.

Old love!

KEEP CALM & LOVE ON!

P.S. – Sorry my posts have been kinda…reviewish…instead of narrative. The husby’s computer is broken, so he’s on mine. Like all the time. I’ve gotta squeeze posts in when he takes food breaks! 😛 Hoping to get that fixed soon!

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord, The Husband | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

