“Upcycled” Frame!

Agh…so little time, so much to blog. I have a whole handful of things I want to blog about (ie – journal, ie – share with you guys) but when it comes down to going to bed or blogging the bed wins every time. Sorry guys. I think I can sneak in a few minutes tonight before bed, so I’ll share a project I worked on this weekend. My upcycled frame!

“Upcycling” is a word I’ve started to see more lately…I’m not totally sure what the difference is between that and recycling (maybe you can explain it to me) but I think upcycling sounds new and fun.

I’ve been thinking about a new piece of decor for our bedroom ever since our faux chandelier sticker fell of the wall above Chris’ dresser. Darn that sticker decor. Of course Pinterest has been giving me lots of inspiration, so I decided to keep my eyes open for a cool frame that I could re-do into a funky chalkboard.

Lucky me…I actually found one in a smelly antique shop a few weeks ago! (Well, technically Mom found it and considered buying it…but when she decided it wasn’t for her I went for it. Probably overpaid, but I still talked her down $5.) It wasn’t looking too good at first, but after a couple of tries at finding the perfect blue spray paint & trying out chalkboard spraypaint (pretty handy, that stuff is) I am loving the end result!

Just an ugly old frame & painting…

frame1

After a royal blue treatment (thanks to the husband for his help…he is a much more patient spray-painter than I am!)

frame2

Add a chalk message to my love & hang above his dresser…

frame3

And voila! A funky & fun chalkboard frame!

frame4

I *love* this frame now!

frame5

The pics are kind of small, I know. My camera battery is dead, so it’s my dinosaur iPhone that got the job. (“Dinosaur iPhone”…that’s kind of an oxymoron, eh?) Hopefully more posts coming up about all the fun stuff I’ve been up to…with better pictures *wink*…hope you have a great week!

KEEP CALM & UPCYCLE!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““Upcycled” Frame!

  1. Alexis

    Love it!!!!!!!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

