White Christmas…a new perspective

It’s Christmas Eve…and I am settled in, cozy as can be, surrounded by my family in my parents beautifully decorated home. It’s lovely. This Christmas season has been a beautiful one…full of family and friends and pretties to look at and delicious treats to eat. Oh yes, and it has been full of reminders of who Jesus is in my life, of why He came…of the fact that He is coming back. I have grown in the Lord this Christmas season, and I am nothing short of thankful for the way He has revealed himself to me.

He showed me something that was a brand new thought to me. Maybe it’s not new to you, but I pray that it blesses you all the same.

********************************************************

At our fancy family dinner tonight (a new Gamblin tradition), we talked about favorite Christmas memories. Christopher was telling us about how most all of his childhood Christmas’ were white…in fact he most easily remembers the one that wasn’t (whereas I remember the ones that were.) Around these parts we spend a lot of time wishing for a white Christmas…or dreaming of a white Christmas, I should say.

But what God revealed to me was that we CAN have a white Christmas, and that as a Christian I can have a “White Christmas” every day of the year. In the second day of my Advent study I read Isaiah 1:18…”Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.”

Don’t you see? We are washed, white as snow, by the blood of Jesus Christ. It is no coincidence that during this season, as we celebrate His birth, that we are offered the gift of His sacrifice…the gift of salvation…the opportunity to have a truly “white” Christmas.

It blows me away…it humbles me…and I am in awe.

Thank you Jesus, for MY “White Christmas.”

It is no coincidence, with this being the theme I’ve meditated on this Christmas season, that God lead me to a beautiful song that touches on this very idea. It’s on a Christmas CD that I’ve had for years…but funny enough this song is one that in years past I’ve skipped over or tuned out on. I hope you’ll take time to listen to it, but just in case, here’s a copy of the lyrics. :)Click on the title to watch a beautiful video on youtube of the song.

Winter Snow

By: Audrey Assad

Could’ve come like a mighty storm
With all the strength of a hurricane
You could’ve come like a forest fire
With the power of heaven in Your flame

But You came like a winter snow
Quiet and soft and slow
Falling from the sky in the night
To the earth below

You could’ve swept in like a tidal wave
Or an ocean to ravish our hearts
You could have come through like a roaring flood
To wipe away the things we’ve scarred

But You came like a winter snow
(Yes, You did)
You were quiet
You were soft and slow
Falling from the sky in the night
To the earth below

Oh, no, Your voice wasn’t in a bush burning
No, Your voice wasn’t in a rushing wind
It was still
It was small
It was hidden

You came like a winter snow
Quiet and soft and slow
Falling from the sky in the night
To the earth below

Falling
(Oh, yeah)
To the earth below
You came falling
From the sky in the night
To the earth below

Merry Christmas, Sweet Dreams, and please remember…whether snow is blanketing the ground tomorrow morning or not, this can be a “White Christmas” for you. I pray that it is.

KEEP CALM & WORSHIP HIM

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

