Sore Throat Relief…Home Remedies

This past weekend, a sore throat snuck right up on me. It’s totally not my m.o. (which translates to “method of operation” in case you are about to google it…no shame, I did just to make sure I was using it correctly!)…meaning I usually get sinus infections. Not sore throats. Thanks to the air purifier my parents got me for my classroom (thanks Ma & Pa!) I’ve been breathin’ better and feelin’ better…until this pesky throat thing came along.

So there I was, drinking all sorts of warm stuff and sucking on cough drops and trying not to sneeze when it hit me. I pinned something not long ago for just this moment! Something glorious and wonderful and right up my alley!

Yep. Marshmallows as a sore throat remedy. I was more than happy to test this pin out…ate a couple of handful of mini-mallows for good measure.

And it accomplished absolutely nothing except making me feel guilty for eating handfuls of marshmallows.

Hum. Maybe I missed something here. I went to the website (you can too, just click on the picture) to see if I was supposed to soak them in cough syrup or something first. Turns out it says they should be refrigerated.

So, I put the bag in the fridge…and then ate a couple more handfuls. I practically had to, in the name of medicine ya know?!

And again, a ride on the guilt train is the only thing it accomplished.

BUT, not all was lost. A friend of my mom’s has a recipe for Hot Almond Tea that everyone swears by, so I decided to give it a try as well. Turns out it’s quite tasty, and did offer some relief. The soreness came back, thanks to all the sneezing I’ve been doing, but luckily for me the recipe makes a big batch…so another cup of tea for me!

Since I love you all, I’ll pay it forward and share the recipe with you…(and I won’t judge you if you feel the need to test the marshmallow thing out for yourself!)

Hot Almond Tea

Boil Together for 5 minutes:

– 2 quarts of water (that’s 8 cups…I had to look it up on my measurement conversion magnet)

– 1  1/2 cups sugar (she says you can use 3/4 a cup…but why? You’ve just eaten half a bag of marshmallows anyway…)

– 1 sliced lemon, rind and all (stupid Wal-Mart lemons looked disgusting…I had to scrub it for 10 minutes before putting it in to boil.)

– Add 2 cups of strong tea…6 regular or 2 family size bags to 2 cups of water

Remove from heat & Add

– 3 TBS frozen concentrated orange juice

– 1/2 cup lemon juice

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 tsp almond extract

Drink and feel better!

KEEP CALM & GET RID OF PESKY SORE THROATS!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

