Get up!

So I have this friend. Maybe you’ve heard of her…Beth Moore?

Yeah, I went to that one simulcast last month…watched her on the big screen…but since she was just talkin’ right to me (girlfriend it’s true!) I decided we were going to be besties.

I don’t think she would argue.

Anyway, Beth looked up all these verses on fear and on conquering fear through the Lord and typed them up into this cute little book for me. (Me and a couple hundred thousand or more other people. Tomato,tomahto.) So I printed them out, used the machine at work to bind them together, and I’ve been lookin’ over them for the last couple of weeks or so.

It’s good stuff.

My BFF Beth named it “The Great Forsake and Take,” which is really crazy…because I keep reading about that same thing everywhere… from my Bible to the other studies I’m doing. The idea is that when God asks you to take something off, to get rid of a sinful habit for example, He then wants you to put something else on…something godly, something that will lead you closer in your walk to Him.

So as I’ve read over these verses, it’s the action words that keep catching my attention. The “take” in that “forsake & take” equation. It reminds me that God doesn’t want us to sit idly by…He calls us to action. Here’s what I mean…

*Seek Him (Psalm 34:4)

*Trust Him (Psalm 56:3)

*Stand Firm (Exodus 14:13)

*Go Up (Deuteronomy 1:21)

*Have a confident heart (Psalm 112:7)

*Be Strong & Courageous (Deuteronomy 31:6)

*Remain Loyal (Joshua 14:8)

*Resolve to Seek the Lord (2 Chronicles 20:3)

*Fear Him (Psalm 34:7)

*Have Faith (Mark 4:40)

*Listen to Him (Proverbs 1:33)

*Calm Down, Be Quiet (Isaiah 7:4)

*Take Refuge (Psalm 25:20-21)

*You have been given a spirit of power, love, and sound judgement (2 Timothy 1:7)

*Be Strong (Joshua 1:7)

*Wait for the Lord (Psalm 27:14)

*Help one another (Isaiah 41:6)

*Work! (Haggai 2:4-5)

*Believe (Mark 5:36)

*Be Bold (Hebrews 13:6)

So basically…what I hear God saying to me is that it’s not enough to sit around talking about how tired I am of being a worrier…feeling anxious…even just being a big ol’ fraidy cat at times. He will fight for me, He will protect me, He gives me courage through the Holy Spirit in me…but I need to get on board. I need to take action.

I think so many times Christians (myself included…or maybe myself especially) sit around waiting for God’s “direction” or “timing” or “leading” on things that….don’t require direction or timing or leading. These strong, strong verbs are all throughout the Bible…and they are the direction. They are the timing. And yes, they are the leading.

So I need to stop waiting on something that is already right in front of my face.

Wouldn’t you agree, Beth?

Have courage! Get up; He’s calling for you!

(Mark 10:49)

KEEP CALM & GET UP! THE LORD IS CALLING FOR YOU!

Categories: Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Get up!

  1. Here’s a thought, also. What he wants you to “take” is holiness. He has called you to it. 1 Peter 1:15-16 says, “But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy”. (NIV) We are to DO holiness. We’ve been called to it in EVERYTHING you do because He is holy.

    I’m doing a study in the book, “The Pursuit of Holiness” by Jerry Bridges. It’s some deep stuff! And, holiness isn’t something flipant, we are called to it! We were given holiness through the blood of Christ when we were saved, but it’s a process, just as your salvation is a process. He says He’s CALLED us to be holy in ALL we do (teaching, household duties, going to church, even in our study time).

    I’m having trouble wrapping my mind around the difference between being given holiness at the time of salvation and being called and doing holiness. I’ll get there.

    Just something for you to think about. If you haven’t read the book, maybe that could be a “gift” sometime when you’re ready! Love ya, sweet girl! Thanks for being the Godly woman and striving to be the Godly women He has called you to be and that’s Dan and I’ve prayed for for Chris! Thanks to your sweet parents who raised you to fear the Lord!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

