Word Association

Let’s play a game.

What do a hole, a Fuzzy’s taco cup, and a chemical burn have in common?

Wait for it…

Wait for it…

Me, Myself, and My Awkwardness. That’s what they have in common.

Let me explain…

*****************************************************************

#1 – The hole

Last week, I geared up for one of my semi-regular evening runs. It was already getting to dark for me to be out really, but by golly…I was going to run! I decided to take a lap around a field near the house, I may not have been paying the most attention…and the next thing I know, I’m twisting my ankle in a hole. I hear a pop, I feel the pain…and I fall to the ground.

Awkward.

I quickly called my Knight in Shining Armor, who drove up to rescue me, carried me into the house, and gave me an ice-pack and meds. He was perfect…even though I just felt silly for having stepped in that stupid hole.

The next morning my ankle was a little sore (especially as I chased Huxley across the neighbors yard at 5:30 in the morning wearing my pajamas and no shoes…but that’s another story) but it worked itself out and I was fine. Just a little bit of a bruised ego I guess.

#2 – A Fuzzy’s Taco Cup

Remember when I said that this past Friday night I went to “The Promise” with the husby and another couple friend of ours? Well, what I failed to mention is that the road leading to Glen Rose is a very windy one…and that, on rare occasions, I get horribly car sick.

This turned out to be one of those times.

I managed to keep it all together (or perhaps in is a better choice of words) on the way there, but it really became a battle for me on the way back. I was deep breathin’ and prayin’ and trying to be good company, but Lord have mercy was I feeling sick.

When we pulled up to their house, I sat still for a few minutes and thought…”Yeah, I’m okay. I’ll be alright.”

And then I got out of the car and realized, “Oh no no no…I am definitely NOT going to be okay.”

So, I walked as far away from the husby and friends as I could, and then I threw up in their yard. Like eight times.

Awkward.

Afterwards my sweet friend brought me a wet paper towel and ice water in a Fuzzy’s taco cup.

And she let me keep the cup. *wink*

#3 – A Chemical Burn

On Sunday morning, the time had come once again to take of the old mustacharoo. I slathered on some of that burn off creme…like nair, but for your face, and waited 5 minutes or so. When I went to rub it off, it didn’t remove all of those pesky mustache hairs.

So, I got a little angry….and rubbed that creme in using a scratchy rag.

Wrong, wrong move.

As soon as I rinsed it off, it started burning. When I took the dog for a walk, it continued burning. When I looked at in the mirror a few minutes later, it was a red, swollen, burning mess. Right above my lip.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is what we call a chemical burn.

Awkward.

At this moment, it’s looking more like a weird scab or something, and the skin around it is really dry. From a distance I almost look like I have a big smudge of dirt above my lip or something, but up close you can definitely see that something is up. Luckily for me everyone is being sweet and not asking.

*Sigh*

*****************************************************************

All I’ve gotta say is…I’m so thankful that Jesus and my husband still love me…and aren’t you glad you aren’t me?! 😛

KEEP CALM & AVOID CHEMICAL BURNS

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

