What I’ve been up to…

’cause obviously it hasn’t been blogging. 😛

My poor little blog.

If it were a love fern it would have wilted already…and probably disintegrated from this awful summer heat.

Makes me want to take a nap just thinking about it.

ANYWAY (how I always end up on napping I’ll never know…I just love to sleep I guess!) I have been one busy, busy little bee…here’s my Dave Letterman “Top 10 List” of what I’ve been up to.

The “Top 10 Things” that are keeping me from blogging and napping these days…

10. Finishing up doctor’s appointments and other official business.

Whew. I have done so much of this junk during July & August…it’s wearing me out! Chiropractor visits, eye doctor visits, insurance meetings, calling on rescheduling this & that…if I didn’t have the summer off I don’t know that I’d ever get everything accomplished!

9. Running…okay, jogging…my way through the “Couch to 5K” app.

I challenged God (well, in a round about way) to turn me into a runner…and He just may be doing it! 😉 I’m not very good, but I don’t dread it…and I can feel my body (and lungs!) getting stronger. I’ve been working on the app for 6 weeks, but I’m only on week 4. I skipped one week because of camp and ended up doing one of the other weeks two weeks in a row because I was scared to move on. I’m a little nervous to see how I fit it into my schedule once school begins, but I’m definitely motivated to keep it up since I have a 5k scheduled in October!

8. Finishing up my “Love & Respect” and “Financial Peace” studies.

Have I ever mentioned that I’m a little obsessive compulsive? Once I start a study, I have to finish it. HAVE to finish it. So even though I’ve read the book several times and completed a class on the book at church, I HAD to finish the workbook for “Love and Respect” once I started it. So, so good…but it’s taken me some time to work my way through that baby.

The “Financial Peace University” class we’ve been taking is wrapping up in the next couple of weeks…and to celebrate we’re paying off the first of Chris’ student loans today! On our way to being debt free!

7. Completing 10 hours of YouTube research for work.

Better than what was originally planned for comp days…but not exactly as easy as I thought, considering most YouTube videos are between 2-7 minutes. I’ve found a lot of great footage on Whole Brain Teaching, The Daily Five, Dr. Jean, and Harry Wong…now I’ve just gotta remember it all during the school year!

6. Trying out more new recipes…with about a 70% success rate.

The dinner’s I’ve tried out have been totally edible, tasty, and gotten the stamp of approval from the husband. The watermelon granita that I tried via a recipe from “The Pioneer Woman”…not so much. Of course it could be since I substituted lemon juice for fresh limes…but it’s all I had. Gross! 😛

5. Couponing and crafting the perfect grocery shopping list for my upcoming HEB trip.

I say “crafting” because I really feel like that’s what I’m doing…I’ve had to start creating a table to keep track of what I need, if I’ll be using a coupon, etc. It’s all very helpful, and it’s saving us money…but it does take time upfront & while grocery shopping. Good thing HEB has a cute little coffee shop and tasty samples to keep me going while I shop!

4. Traveling with my favorite travel partner…my Momma!

Mom and I were so excited to travel to Dallas for our hot-air balloon ride last week. We stayed with a dear friend of hers and had a grand time…until we got the call that our balloon ride was canceled again due to the weather. Pedicures were a fun consolation prize, and by golly, we’re going to get that balloon ride rescheduled one of these days!

3. Gettin’ my Pinterest on

Between new recipes and school ideas, I’ve been burnin’ up my Pinterest boards lately. I even totally revamped my food boards, going from one comprehensive board to five (I think) more focused boards. Is it bad that the “Healthy” board is right next to the “Desserts” board?

2. Making my puppy-themed classroom “Best In Show”

This year I’ve been able to work a few half-days to get my classroom all organized and decorated…and it’s really coming together! I’m excited for my new little ones to see our dog-themed classroom, and feel happy with the changes I’ve made to my room. Once I get past the pain of moving furniture and hanging bulletin board paper, organizing / decorating / setting up my room for the new year is one of my favorite parts of being a teacher. Think I could get paid just to help people do that? 😉

1. Digging into God’s word & spending time in prayer

I’ve really been seeking after God…specifically in the areas of my marriage and what it would look like for me to live with a “crazy love” for Christ. That’s included a lot of time spent digging through my bible, praying, and talking with family and friends about what God is teaching me. It’s been a sweet time of drawing near to Him, and I know that the time I’ve invested in growing my relationship with Christ is well, well worth it.

********************************************************

So what about you? What have you been up to these days?

KEEP CALM & KEEP ON KEEPIN’ ON!

P.S. – Does anyone else miss the Olympics?! I’m so sad that they are over…can’t wait until Russia 2014!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to…

  1. Alexis

    Glad you posted today! I was just thinking bout ya!!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

