Happy Daddy’s Day!

I know, I know. Father’s day was yesterday. But if your Dad is as awesome as mine is, you know that one day a year to celebrate him just isn’t quite enough…so I hope you’ll indulge me in this post-Father’s day post.

Last year I was struck with inspiration, and ended up writing what is really one of my favorite posts. You may remember it… #that’smydad. Pretty cute if I do say so myself.

And pretty hard to beat. 😛

This year Father’s day kind of snuck up on me. I was away at a summer camp all of last week, stopping by my house long enough to sleep / do a couple of loads of laundry / pay a few bills before I was packing up the car again and driving down to my parents house for a few days. Pair that with the fact that my Dad is very hard to shop for and you can see how I would be feeling a little unprepared.

As I sit here and think of what to say that would best honor my father, I am reminded once again of how incredibly blessed I am. I work with so many children who do not know their father, or whose father is in and out of the picture, or whose father has passed away. Children who come from split families…who are being raised by grandparents…who are longing for a relationship with their daddy. My heart breaks for them, because I understand the need to be known by your father and to have his acceptance and love.

So with that in mind, one of the things I appreciate most about my Dad, and my Mom, is the love they have for one another. (Maybe you’ve heard this quote before…it’s pretty applicable to this conversation. “The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.”) When my parents made a marriage covenant with one another thirty years ago, they meant what they said. In doing so, they created a solid family unit for my brother and I, one in which we have been able to grow and flourish. We’ve faced our share of struggles as a family…but we’ve faced them together, and I have no doubts about my father’s love for me.

In light of what so many children (grown and not-so-grown) face these days, that assurance and relationship feels huge.

That’s just the start of everything my Dad does for our family. He sacrifices for us, he counsels us, he teases us, he comforts us, he laughs with us, he loves us…he taught us the value of hard work, and to follow through on our commitments. He is a father in every sense of the word, and I am thankful everyday that he is my Daddy.

“To her the name of father was another name for love.” – Fanny Fern

 Thanks for letting me share a piece of my heart today…I hope you’ve got a Daddy as special as mine. 🙂

KEEP CALM & BE THANKFUL FOR GOOD DADDIES!

What Makes a Dad 

God took the strength of a mountain, The majesty of a tree, The warmth of a summer sun, The calm of a quiet sea, The generous soul of nature, The comforting arm of night, The wisdom of the ages, The power of the eagle’s flight, The joy of a morning in spring,
The faith of a mustard seed, The patience of eternity, The depth of a family need, Then God combined these qualities, When there was nothing more to add, He knew His masterpiece was complete, And so,
He called it … Dad
~~Author Unknown.~~

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Daddy’s Day!

  1. What a nice post 🙂

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

