Beenie-Weenies…the Adult Version

Master Chef Extraordinaire here, reporting for another episode of “Kitchen Diaries.”

(*Am I getting too into this? Tell me if it starts getting weird…)

When I was a single girl, living alone in a town where I didn’t know anyone outside of work and regularly ate cereal for dinner, I also perfected the always popular “Beenie-Weenie” dish.

I know, I know. That’s pretty impressive.

For all practical purposes, I’ve ditched the recipe. Chris isn’t a big fan, it’s not the healthiest, etc. But, I recently came across a grown-up version of the Beenie-Weenie. I cooked it for lunch one day, planning to ask for forgiveness rather than permission…and it turned out that he liked it! Hooray!

Once again, I’ve got to give credit where credit is due. Find the original and printable recipe at Kraft Foods. (Their recipe is for one serving…I’ll share what we did for 2 servings. Also, it has you cook it on the grill, I just used a pan on the stove.)

BBQ Dogs & Beans (aka – Beenie Weenies)

Ingrediants:

*can of pork & beans

*3-4 hot dogs (I got fancy with ours…found some with cheese inside)

*2 TBS Barbeque sauce

*1/2 cup chopped tomatoes

*Shredded cheddar cheese to taste

To-Do:

1) Cut up the dogs & get ’em nice and warm in the pan.

2) Add the beans & sauce…warm it up

3) Top with tomatoes & cheese

4) Eat up!

This is my kind of cooking people. And I like that it rhymes. Guess that’s the elementary teacher in me. 😉

KEEP CALM & PREHEAT THE STOVE!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

