The Best Day

If you knew me in high school, you knew I was a homebody. I drove my friends crazy on more than one occasion for wanting to stay home instead of going out (plus, let’s face it, the only place to “go out” was to Wal-Mart…ugh) and I honestly enjoyed hanging out with my parents and brother. Not much has changed in the almost 10 years (AGH!) since high school. That’s why I was so pumped this past weekend when my family all came in to MW so that we could celebrate Mother’s day together. Chris was missing, which was a bummer (helping move his family from AZ)…but we were happy to add Caleb’s girlfriend to the mix for the better part of the weekend.

Friday evening was pizza night, a little Wii, a little Dollar Tree shopping…but not much else. All these teachers were tired!

Saturday we drove on up to Arlington to take in a Rangers game. As my family says, I’m a “fair weather fan“…in the very literal sense. (Meaning I only want to be a fan if the actual weather is fair. No more hot summer games for me!) The dark skies & rain when we pulled up to the stadium didn’t thrill me…so when everyone got out to brave the rain & get into the stadium (2 hours early, I might add *wink*) I opted to stay in the car until it dried out a little. Luckily I didn’t have to wait long before I could meet up with everyone and check out the new changes made to the stadium.

We knew our seats would be in the nosebleed section, but we weren’t quite expecting to be on the very tippy top top row. They truly weren’t bad seats though, and we had a blast eating and talking and cheering on the Rangers. And although I can’t speak for everyone else, Jessica and I had fun snuggling under a blanket (it was pretty chilly!) and dancing to all the crazy music. 🙂 Agh, and I almost forgot all the booing Caleb and I did for ol’ CJ & Pujol. That just might have been my favorite part.

Sunday Mom & I got all dolled up and went to church for the Mother’s Day service. After Sunday School we went out to Clark Gardens for a girly Mother’s Day Luncheon. Clark Gardens has a lot of special memories for us…it’s one of the first places Mom & I visited together when I moved here, it’s where Chris & I got engaged, and where engagement / bridal pictures were taken. The Luncheon was really very sweet…we had our picture taken, enjoyed a tasty lunch at our own private table, and soaked up the lovely weather on a walk through the park. Mom & I love to make new memories together, and this was definitely a special way to spend Mother’s Day.

After everyone left, and before the husband made it home, I snuggled up with my little guy for a nap. Life is sweet.

I have been incredibly blessed to have the family that I have…my life has been a series of “best days,” and I’m so grateful for the love we share. So in that spirit, I’ll leave you guys with the words of one of my favorite songs. We played it during the slideshow at my wedding, and it always touches my heart. Hope you’ve got a “best day” coming up in your near future. 🙂

The Best Day lyrics Songwriter: Swift, Taylor

I’m five years old, it’s getting cold, I’ve got my big coat on I hear your laugh and look up smiling at you, I run and run Past the pumpkin patch and the tractor rides, look now, the sky is gold I hug your legs and fall asleep on the way home

I don’t know why all the trees change in the fall But I know you’re not scared of anything at all Don’t know if Snow White’s house is near or far away But I know I had the best day with you today

I’m thirteen now and don’t know how my friends could be so mean I come home crying and you hold me tight and grab the keys And we drive and drive until we found a town far enough away And we talk and window shop ’til I’ve forgotten all their names

I don’t know who I’m gonna talk to now at school But I know I’m laughing on the car ride home with you Don’t know how long it’s gonna take to feel okay But I know I had the best day with you today

I have an excellent father, his strength is making me stronger

God smiles on my little brother, inside and out, he’s better than I am

I grew up in a pretty house and I had space to run                                            

And I had the best days with you

There is a video I found from back when I was three You set up a paint set in the kitchen and you’re talking to me It’s the age of princesses and pirate ships and the seven dwarfs And Daddy’s smart and you’re the prettiest lady in the whole wide world

And now I know why the all the trees change in the fall I know you were on my side even when I was wrong And I love you for giving me your eyes For staying back and watching me shine And I didn’t know if you knew, so I’m takin’ this chance to say That I had the best day with you today

KEEP CALM & CELEBRATE YOUR “BEST DAYS”

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

