Stop and Smell the Roses

(*Sorry if you received this e-mail yesterday. 😛 I accidently posted early, then realized the pictures didn’t load. That’s a Monday for ya!)

Wouldn’t it be cool if we really had Willie Wonka’s “smell-o-vision”? Then you could take a deep sniff of these beauties…

I’m not the best photographer, but it’s hard to mess up a picture of such beauty in nature.

Many of you probably celebrated Easter in some way with your family this past weekend. My prayer is that you recognize it as the day that Jesus Christ rose again, defeating Satan and death and providing THE way for us to enter into a personal relationship with God. It isn’t just about His death…it’s about His life, and I am beyond grateful that He offers eternal life to me…and you.

So in light of the sacrifice He made, and of all that Easter stands for, I think this is a good time to stop and smell the roses. To look at life and see what really matters, what Christ is really calling me to do, who He is calling me to be. To sit with Him, to bask in His presence, to find the beauty He provides all around me…and to recognize that the beauty around me is nothing compared to what is coming in His Heavenly kingdom. In the studies I’m involved in right now, I keep hearing the call loud and clear, over and over. The call is to be “kingdom minded.” And to do that I know that I need to slow down, step back, and ask God to take control of my priorities.

Kind of scary for a girl who likes to hold the planner. 😛

In my Sunday school lesson there was a quote that really resonated with me. It went something like this (meaning I’m too lazy to get up and find the word for word quote right now…sorry friends!)…”As you focus your attention on God’s kingdom, you can trust Him to manage yours.”

After all, if He cares for the roses growing in my backyard, how much more can I trust Him to take care of me and my family?

KEEP CALM & SMELL THE ROSES

P.S. to my Mother-In-Law….Check it out! I haven’t killed everything in your yard…yet. 😉

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Stop and Smell the Roses

  1. I see that!! they are beautiful. I need to cut them back when we move back to Texas. I love this time of year because our roses are in full bloom. They are your mom’s and my birthday flower! Thanks for sharing “my”/our garden!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

