I can boldly quote…

Remember how I told you guys about feeling led to read through the bible this year? Well, I’ve stuck with it so far…I’m almost 60 days in! The particular version of the Bible I chose is really helping me along, and the Lord is revealing so much of himself to me through my reading.

In that time I’ve read Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, John, Romans, and Hebrews. I’ve gotten a kick out of some of the stories I read in Genesis, and blushed a little at some of the laws I read…never quite expected to see a section entitled “Discharge.” (Bahaha…sorry! Was that too much? But seriously, it’s in the Bible!) The New Testament books I’ve read have been presented in a new light, so today I’m going to keep my words few and leave you with a reading from Hebrews subtitled “Jesus Doesn’t Change.”

Stay on good terms with each other, held together by love. Be ready with a meal or a bed when it’s needed. Why, some have extended hospitality to angels without ever knowing it! Regard prisoners as if you were in prison with them. Look on victims of abuse as if what happened to them happened to you. Honor marriage, and guard the sacredness of sexual intimacy between wife and husband. God draws a firm line between casual and illicit sex. Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, “I’ll never let you down, never walk off and leave you,” we can boldly quote “God is there, ready to help; I’m fearless no matter what. Who or what can get me?”

I am ever grateful that the Bible is God’s living and Holy word, and humbled that He would give me the gift of the Holy Spirit to help me interpet and relate the scriptures to my own life. Different parts of this verse hit at the heart of different issues I’ve been dealing with, books I’ve been reading, and ideas I’ve been contemplating.

God has begun a work in me…and my desire more and more becomes to give Him glory and honor.

Hope you have eyes to see and ears to hear what He has for you today…

KEEP CALM & KEEP WATCHING!

P.S. – If you are interested in what version I’m using, check it out for yourself! It is “The Message//Remix: Pause….A Daily Reading Bible.” Every seventh day suggests you take a break to review, but I usually forge ahead so that when I miss a day here or there I don’t end up behind. It reads more like a modern-day novel, and so far I’ve really appreciated the specific pairings of old testament and new testament books…they line up really well. I’d definitely recommend it!

Categories: Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

