The World According to Mister Rogers

I’ve had Mister Rogers on my mind a lot lately. Is that strange? Hum…I think not.

See, everyday on my way to work I put on a jacket. <Nothing strange there, it is winter after all.> I’ve got a lot of jackets to choose from…at last count, over 10. 😛

Then, when I get to work, I take off my home jacket and put on my school jacket. <It’s a zip-up hoodie w/ cute appliques…a Christmas gift from a student.> When the school day is over, I take off my school jacket and put on my home jacket for the ride home.

Are you getting the Mister Rogers connection here? 😉

So today, on this happy Friday, I thought I’d share a couple Mister Rogers quotes…they are, after all, important things to remember! I found them in a book I received as a gift from  my mom a few years ago…thanks Ma!

*Some days, doing “the best we can” may still fall short of what we would like to be able to do, but life isn’t perfect-on any front- and doing what we can with what we have is the most we should expect of ourselves or anyone else. <Why couldn’t I have read this at the beginning of the week?! So true Mr. Rogers….>

*Love isn’t a state of perfect caring. It is an active noun like struggle. To love someone is to strive to accept that person exactly the way he or she is, right here and now. <Love takes work; it is a choice!>

*If you could only sense how important you are to the lives of those you meet; how important you can be to the people you may never even dream of. There is something of yourself that you leave at every meeting with another person. <Who will you meet today? What will you leave with them?>

It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood, A beautiful day for a neighbor. Would you be mine? Could you be mine?…
It’s a neighborly day in this beauty wood, A neighborly day for a beauty. Would you be mine? Could you be mine?…
I’ve always wanted to have a neighbor just like you. I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you.
So, let’s make the most of this beautiful day. Since we’re together we might as well say: Would you be mine?                                                           Could you be mine? Won’t you be my neighbor?
Won’t you please, Won’t you please? Please won’t you be my neighbor?

*All quotes by Fred Rogers

Have a great Friday, friend.

KEEP CALM & BE A GOOD NEIGHBOR!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The World According to Mister Rogers

  1. Meow! Me loves meow Mr. Rogers meow meow. Hmmm meow, Mr. Rogers had a trolley in his house meow and fish! meow meow. Thanks for the meow post!
    -Henriette Pussy cat (meow)

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

