The Vow

If you A) are a girl & B) have a tv…then odds are you start swooning at the thought of a certain movie that’s being released this weekend. Maybe you’ve heard of it…it looks to be only one of the most romantic movies made in a long time.

Here’s a hint…

<source>

Puhleeease tell me you know what I’m talking about & that you too are just beside yourself waiting for “The Vow” to come out this weekend.

The previews alone were enough to make the romantic in me tear up & feel all sorts of overwhelmed. Here’s the basic plot…man & woman have this amazing relationship, get married, then are in a horrific car accident. When she wakes up, she doesn’t remember that he is her husband…and he has to win her back.

Add that together with two of my favorite actors/actresses and it sounds like the perfect movie to eat soggy popcorn to. <Soggy because I plan on crying all in the popcorn tub…are you following me here? *wink*>

And I pretty much thought that was where it ended…sweet love story, beautiful people, ideal movie going experience.

It turns out it is actually so much more than that. My sister-in-law let me borrow the book, and it turns out the movie is based on a real couple and their actual experience. (Hello self…somehow I managed to overlook that “inspired by true events” part of the title.) I sped through the book in one evening, and learned that while this is a romantic story, more than that it is  a story about the kind of love God commands husbands and wives to love one another with.

I don’t know how much the movie will get into the faith aspect of Kim & Krickett Carpenters experience, but their faith in God has everything to do with this story. It is what binds them together through the unimaginable…what helps them pull through that part of the vow that no one really likes to think about during the ceremony <for better or worse>. It is a love story in the truest sense of the word, and I hope you’ll take the time to read it…whether you watch the movie or not.

James Dobson wrote a letter which is printed at the end of the book that totally hit the nail on the head….I had hoped I could find it on the internet to share with you guys, but I guess you’ll have to buy the book to read it. 😉 Basically what he says that although we live in a world where people will turn away from their marriages because their feelings changed or their differences seemed insurmountable, here is a couple who honored their vows because they made a promise and commitment to one another and to God.

Who else besides God could get the credit for a husband and wife staying together after one partner completely lost all memory of meeting, courting, marrying, honeymooning, and living with the other?

Okay, that’s enough of me talking. Just promise me you’ll read the book!!!

One last thing before you go…another assignment for you, if you will. I found this video <you should check out others this guy has done…he’s good> about the kind of love God calls us to have in our marriages. It is beautiful & challenging…my favorite line is “It’s not the love that sustains the promise, it’s the promise that sustains the love.” <Which couldn’t be any truer in “The Vow!”>

Here’s the link…http://youtu.be/I4OK9DmLpCY It’s called “Sex, Marriage, and Fairytales”…

I pray I will show my sweet husband the love of Christ…xoxo.

KEEP CALM & PREPARE YOUR HEART FOR VALENTINE’S DAY!

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord, The Husband | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

