The big…2-7?

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday dear sweet wonderful ol’ meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Happy Birthday to me!

I’m shameless I know. I just love birthdays! Mine…yours…my dog’s (April 18th – go ahead and pencil in a party for that day)…they’re just fun! My mom is probably to blame…she always made my birthday special & threw me some pretty awesome parties. I’d say these pictures show a happy little birthday girl, wouldn’t you?

Take this last picture for example. Mom picked me up after school one day, along with the other girls in my kindergarten class, in a full-out clown costume. Makeup, wig, the works. However, now that I am examining this pic, I do wonder about her reasoning for making a rice krispie cake <which requires a bit of chewing> for a kid with no front teeth. 😉

Other memorable parties include…

*For one slumber party, my mom made a little cake for each girl and we had a cake decorating party. Once we finished, we carefully carried our cakes to my parents bedroom door, where my dad opened the door just long enough to judge the contest and declare me the winner. <He wasn’t quite cut out for a house full of silly girls, needless to say. *wink*> Then we ate the cake my mom had made and iced…and spent the rest of the night and early morning running around in a sugar-induced craze.

*In Junior High, I had a double-party with my best friend. I don’t remember exactly how old we were turning, but I know we decided it would be so cool if we pretended to be older than we were…so our cakes said something like “Happy Sweet 16!” We rented out the community center and did all the things girls go crazy for…nails, dance party, and giggling long into the night.

*For my real sweet 16 Mom ordered a cake that looked like a castle & I invited a couple of my fav girls over for a more mature “spa night.” I remember soaking our feet & reading magazines, talking about boys, and…giggling long into the night. 🙂

*My mom even took care of me in college. For my 21st birthday she bought me the cutest polka dot party goods, and I coordinated the rest of the party plans. Everyone from my college church group was invited & my boyfriend’s mom made me a pyramid cake of knock-off “chocolate moltens” like those at Chili’s. It was tame compared to most 21st birthday parties, but the police did end up knocking on our door before the night was over. <Don’t get too excited…a couple of people were illegally parked & neighbors were complaining that we were blocking the streets.> Afterwards we threw on feather boas & went to the bowling alley for glow-in-the-dark “Cosmic Bowling.”

I’m a blessed girl to have shared so much love with my friends and family over the years…and I look forward to celebrating many, many more birthdays with them in the future.

Before I sign off to go eat a piece of birthday cake, <I know it’s not even 7 a.m. yet. It’s my birthday. Don’t judge.> I’ll leave you with a discussion that took place between my students & I last week…

Students: “Whose birthday is next week?”

Me: “Um hello?! Remember? I’ve already told you guys about this….it’s going to be my birthday soon!” <In case you hadn’t caught on, I’m paraphrasing this part of the convo.>

Students: “How old are you going to be?”

Me: “How old do you think I’ll be?” <Usually at this point I hear anything from 14 to 90. Their number sense is just, quite frankly, not there yet.>

Student T: “26?” <Whoa. You go dude.>

Me: “Actually I am 26 right now…”

Student T: “OH MY GOSH! YOU ARE AS OLD AS THE ALPHABET?!”

Is that not the cutest thing? In case you are still scratching your head, one of the things we talk about everyday in phonics is how there are 26 letters in the alphabet…great connection huh?!

So I’m off to spend my birthday with my little darlings…eat a cupcake for me today!

KEEP CALM & MAKE A WISH!

P.S. – Tomorrow I’ll have all the *fanastic* details of my birthday celebration this past weekend. Stay tuned!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The big…2-7?

  1. Mary Book

    Just had to say, “Happy Birthday”!!!!! And KEEP CALM & KEEP WRITING……. I love your blog.

  2. Pingback: Eighties Baby! «

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

