The mandatory post…New Years Resolution

January 2nd has come…and is almost gone. Broken any New Years resolutions yet? *wink*

I don’t typically put a lot of time into thinking about my resolutions because, quite frankly, I’m usually in the percentage of people who fail to maintain the resolution over time. <Plus I tend to make weird resolutions…like the year I vowed to shave my legs every day. Epic fail.> This year I wasn’t really coming up with much…I mean, let’s just give up on the idea of me shaving my legs everyday, or using my Wii Fit everyday, or eating fat-free-sugar-free-gluton-free-salt-free-taste-free foods everyday.

However, two pieces of inspiration struck me…pinterest, and a sermon. Interesting combo right?!

First, the pinterest piece…

Pinned Image

Pretty self-explainatory.

Now for the sermon. Our associate pastor was talking about how a lot of the things people make resolutions about (debt, weight loss, quit addictions) have a spiritual basis. The resolution I was tossing around was certainly spiritual in nature. He then pointed out that we are incapable of “fixing” problems of a spiritual nature on our own. Check out this verse from the bible…

Romans 7:18-19 “18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.

Sound familiar? You keep doing what you do not want to do? <This would explain why my legs resembled that of a black bear the year I made the shaving resolution.> I joke, but that verse is so true. We simply cannot overcome our sinful nature on our own.

If we were to stop there then 2012 would seem rather without hope. The good news is that we can not only have hope, we can have it abundantly!

John 15:5 says “5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Apart from Him we can do nothing, but if we remain in Him…now that’s a different story. As we yield ourselves to God through submission and repentance, He can bring about the changes needed to make us more like Christ. So it’s not really about what “I resolve” to do in the new year, but rather about bowing to God and seeing what changes He desires to bring about in my life.

His track record is far superior to mine, after all. 🙂

KEEP CALM & REMAIN IN CHRIST!

Categories: Daily Drama, Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

