2011 in Review

Well here we are again…the end of another year! Where did 2011 go? Oh me, oh my…

I thought it would be fun to look back on some of the highlights from the year, so let’s get to what made 2011 memorable!

January

*Not much to report apparently (I’m looking back through my “marriage journals” to refresh my memory!)…it seems as though January was all about settling in to the new year. 🙂

February

*The Great Ice Storm of 2011…seriously. cold. Chris & I had lots of bonding time during the 5 days we were trapped in our house!

*Texas Budget Cuts…our superintendent let us know that there would be serious personnel cuts at our school, which led to a lot of stress & health problems on my part. 😦

March

*My teaching contract was renewed! What a BIG relief! <And I got my health issues under control…stress does crazy things to the body!>

April

*Crazy wildfire season, which led to my school acting as an evacuation center…we even spent one afternoon prepping to evacuate if necessary!

*We paid off my car! Sweet!

May

*We paid off Chris’ truck! We’re on a roll!!

*We applied to adopt an english bulldog from a rescue organization….and our application was rejected. Needless to say, I do not handle rejection well.

June

*Lost my sweet Pappy…I still miss her so much, but what a testimony my Mom had in her passing

*An adorable little pup named Huxley joined our fam…and I’ve been smitten ever since!

*Anniversary trip to San Antonio…had an amazing time with the husband

July

*Heat wave ring a bell? Now that was no bueno…

August

*Joined First Baptist Church…so thankful for our homegroup friends & the way everyone has welcomed us!

September

*Started Puppy Kindergarten classes…graduated 1st in his class! 😉

*Brotha moved in for student teaching…he was a great house guest & I miss him already!

October

*We switched to cash only…or cash most of the time. Working on our budgeting skillz was def a priority for us in ’11!

*Halloween Costume Contest…remember the fire family? 1st place baby!

November

*Paid off our credit cards…woop woop! Don’t plan on going back down that road…

December

*Chris graduated from ITT…equally proud & happy that we won’t have to deal with night school anymore!

*Threw Chris a ‘stache bash…totally surprised him! It was ‘stachetastic!

*Had a fabulous Christmas with the fam…my first with the in-laws and created great new memories with my side!

What a year it’s been! I’m thankful for the blessings of the year and for the love of a God and family to walk with me through the hard times. Life isn’t perfect, but that’s not the promise…and I wouldn’t trade what I’ve got goin’ on for anything!

So farewell 2011…can’t wait to see what 2012 holds!

KEEP CALM & CELEBRATE THE JOYS OF A YEAR PAST!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “2011 in Review

  1. Alexis

    Happy New Year!!!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

