Elf Wanna-Be

I’m kind of digging the tutorial thing this week apparently (hence the “elf wannabe”…get it? *wink*) . Today I’ve got a couple of easy ones that I know you’ll love…they’re perfect to send to your child’s classroom party, drop by your neighbor’s house, or surprise your family with on Christmas day. I’ve made both of them for my family as well as the children in my class, so they come highly recommended! 😉

Reindeer Pops
This is a spin-off of the turkey pops I learned to make at a ladies crafty night. Here’s what you’ll need…

Golden Oreos, frosting (the kind in the can ended up working out really well for me), twisty pretzels, red hots, and candy eyes. (I’ve seen the eyes at both Target and Wal-Mart, and if I were Oprah they would be on my favorite things episode and I would give all of you a package of them. They are seriously fun!)  Oh, and if you want to turn them into “pops,” you’ll need sucker sticks & baggies to cover them.

Step 1: Pull the oreo apart. Refrain from licking the frosting out of the middle.

<That is probably the most challenging part of this entire “recipe!”>

Squirt on some frosting & position your “antlers” and stick.

Step 2: Put the other Oreo half back on. Use the frosting to “glue” on your eyes and red nose.

Step 3: Refrigerate for an hour or so, or put in the freezer for about 30 minutes. This is muy importante and will help keep your Rudolph from flat falling apart. I keep mine in the fridge until I’m ready to gift them just for safe measure…

Step 4: Wrap up as a “pop” or place on a cute dish as cookies…

Either way is sure to please!

******************************

Angel Fatheads

<Disclaimer: Okay, so these aren’t exactly fatheads. At least, not in the sense you are thinking of. It’ll make perfect sense in a minute…>

I’m not exactly sure where I got this crafty idea, but I’ve been making these as gifts for students ever since I started teaching. It always makes everyone giggle, so this year I decided to whip up a few of Chris, Huxley, and I.

Check it…

 I told you “Fatheads” would make perfect sense once you saw them! 🙂  I wish I could show you some of my kids…some of their heads ended up printing REALLY big and they look absolutely hilarious. In this particular context the rule is: the bigger the head…the better!

Here’s what you’ll need to make Fatheads out of your friends & family…

Doilies (I think I used the 12 inch), clothespins, gold ribbon, gold pipe cleaners, hot glue, & big fat pictures!

Step 1: Fold the doily in half, then in half again.

Step 2: Make wings my gluing the gold ribbon onto the clothespin in big loops.

Step 3: Glue the doily on top of the clothespin / wings. (This way it can be clipped to virtually anything!)

Step 4: Glue on the fathead.

Step 5: Fashion the pipe cleaner into a halo & glue.

So go on. You know you wanna. Make “Angel Fatheads” of everyone you know!

(Just make sure you include on of yourself, otherwise they may get a little offended!)

**********************

As always, hope you enjoyed the read & maybe walked away with a new idea! Christmas is coming!!

KEEP CALM & GET YOUR FATHEAD ON!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

