The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…

This past weekend we loaded up and went to my parents for the weekend….I always love going home to visit and rest. My own home is wonderful, but there’s something so comfortable about going home home. Know what I mean?

Mom was needing a little girl time (oh who am I kidding, so was I!) so she suggested something the boys would have no interest in…pedicures! And better yet…her treat! 🙂

My mom has always been one of my very best friends, more so every year. She’s always been a great mom, and I love how our relationship has evolved into a friendship and even into collegues. Since I moved out of my parent’s house over 8 years ago to start college I could probably count on two hands (excluding my 7 day honeymoon) the number of days we haven’t talked on the phone. She knows to expect that call every night, and I honestly don’t know what I would do without it. I credit so much of who I am as a person, wife, and teacher to her…she has been there for me through every step of “growing up.”

Mom and I are very much alike…sometimes it’s all my Dad can do to shake his head and say “You are your mother’s daughter!” (Of course he’s usually saying it accompanied by a head shake, and it’s usually because we are wearing him out over something or another. Oh well…we say the same thing about him and Caleb!) I definitely take it as a compliment though! Recently we sat and visited with one of her teaching partners and laughed over how similiar Mom’s and my classroom management styles are…but that’s a whole different post. 😉

As I said…the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

Since we get along so well and love spending time together, we are always looking for a new adventure to go on together. I thought it be fun to take a little walk down memory lane today and check out some of our memorable moments. (Or some of our most memorable facebook moments, since that’s where I went to find all of these pics!)

Okay, okay, so I know Chris is in this pic. It’s the only one I had to show what kind of awesome treasures we find when we go garage-sale-ing (sp?! Mom help me out here!) together. Besides the awesome fall tree, marionette, & velvet painting in this pic, we’ve bought horns (like the kind that come from a bull and you hang on your wall….I was going to bedazzle them), classroom stuff, and most of my single-girl apartment furniture. I always find the most random stuff at garage sales…

 Here we are at the Grand Canyon, fulfilling one of Mom’s lifelong dreams. It was quite an ordeal to make it all the way to the Canyon that day, but I am so thankful that I got to experience God’s amazing creation with her.

Vegas Baby! Mom and I surprised everyone by going on a trip by ourselves to Las Vegas a few summers ago. We love to travel, and although Vegas wasn’t at the top of our traveling list, the price was right…so we went for it! We had so much fun just walking around, seeing the sights, watching the shows, and eating lots of yummy food. Hands down one of the best trips I’ve ever been on! I love our adventures!

This is just a pic of us at a summer rodeo…*love*love*love* her!

Since we couldn’t afford another big trip like Vegas, one summer we decided to head down to the state capital of Texas to explore a city neither of us had spent much time in. Austin sure did bring the crazy (and the heat!) but we enjoyed our time exploring the local sights & capital. <Scratch that. She enjoyed the capital. I was cramping sooo badly that I spent my time basically curled up on the soft grass in front of the capital. Luckily for me it was Austin and no one even gave me a second glance!>

Merry Christmas! My parents always made Christmas such a magical time for Caleb & I, and it continues to be one of my favorite times of the year.

Another first for me…our trip to the State Fair of Texas! We walked around the fair for a while and enjoyed a little fried butter before our main event…going to see the broadway musical “Mary Poppins.” It was ‘practically perfect’ and just so much fun…all in all a great day!

Here we are all dressed up and ready to go to my hometown wedding shower. Aren’t we so shiny and pretty?!

My mom was just another one of the girls at my Bachelorette party in Dallas, TX. She hears so many stories about my friends (as they do about her) so it never takes long for her and my friends to be all buddy buddy. My maid of honor K planned a fabulous weekend of eating, shopping, girl-talk, and art…I’ll have to write another post about “Painting with a Twist!”

Of course I’ve gotta throw a couple of wedding day pics in here…it was such a special day for mom and I. (Oh yeah, and for Chris too. *wink*) Mom was busy the morning of my wedding putting together the flower bouqets, but she made sure she was there to help get me into my wedding dress. I’m thankful she was there to smooth out my back fat! 😉

Ta-da!!

So, dear sweet Momma, thank you for all of our wonderful, practically perfect adventures and giggles and talks. I can’t wait to see where life takes us next! (*I’m still itching for that trip east in the fall…sounds glorious to me!)

<excerpt from Taylor Swift’s song “Best Day”>

I have an excellent father
His strength is making me stronger
God smiles on my little brother
Inside and out
He’s better than I am

I grew up in a pretty house
And I had space to run
And I had the best days with you

Now I know why all the trees change in the fall
I know you were on my side
Even when I was wrong
And I love you for giving me your eyes
Staying back and watching me shine

And I didn’t know if you knew
So I’m taking this chance to say
That I had the best day
With you today

Love you Momma! 🙂

KEEP CALM & HUG YOUR MOM!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…

  1. Thank you Heather Re’ne. You are truly one of the greatest blessings of this life. Daddy has asked me before how it feel to have a clone. I have the most fun with you of any of my friend (and I have some terrrific friends). Good blog, keep it up :). Love from Momma.

  2. Alexis

    So sweet!!! Treasure your time together!!!! I miss my Mom everyday!!!!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

