Case Study: Do Opposites Really Attract?

Ever feel like you are channeling Paula Abdul?

I can’t say it happens to me that often either, but today I can’t get her out of my head. If you were around in the the eighties or nineties or whenever she wrote the lyrics, I bet before this post is over you’ll be singing “Opposites Attract.”

You can thank me later. 🙂

One of the husband’s and I more recent date nights revolved around a chapter called “Finding Unity in Diversity.” Lots of big words that basically meant “How to get along when you are so darn different.”

I already knew that Chris and I were pretty different. Here are a few of our most basic differences…

– I listen to country, christian, and pop music. He listens to…I don’t even know what you call it…heavy metal I guess.

– I watch romantic comedies. He watches horror flicks. You should see our DVD collection…a lot of pink & hearts mixed in with black & blood.

– I was a front row student, big over-achiever. He is a back row student who will try to talk the teacher out of what they asked him to do.

I just didn’t quite realize how truly opposite we are.

The book had a series of “scales.” We each marked where we were on the scale, then compared answers. Oh boy.

– Chris is more “feelings” oriented. I am more “facts” oriented.

– I am more private, he is more public.

– Whereas he is spontaneous (not that he likes to be spontaneous, it’s more that he doesn’t like to plan), I am the ultimate of all planners.

– I am time-oriented, he…isn’t.

– He is a night-owl, and I like sleep to much. That makes me a “day lark.”

And, to make the whole exercise even more interesting, we found that we are pretty well balanced as far as the degree to which we are each “thing.” <I don’t feel like that was very clear. Let me try again.> In other words, he is just as public as I am private, as feelings oriented as I am facts oriented.

So…we balance one another.

Of course, the book had quite a bit to say about to work together, using your combined strengths to make your marriage partnership stronger and such. All good food for thought. What it helped me to remember is that A) life would be pretty boring if we both were exactly the same and B) our differences enable God to continue rubbing away at our impurities.

I’ll just have to try and remember that the next time Chris tries to buck my plans. 😉

Now…take it away Paula!

I take-2 steps forward
 You take-2 steps back
We come together
Cuz  opposites attract
And you know-it ain’t fiction
Just a natural fact
We come together
Cuz opposites attract

Baby ain’t it somethin’
How we  lasted this long
You and me
Provin’ everyone wrong
Don’t think we’ll  ever
Get our differences patched
Don’t really matter
Cuz we’re perfectly matched

KEEP CALM & SING ALONG!

Categories: The Husband | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

