Scattered Saturday…decor, food, & more!

Got a busy day ahead, but should be a good one. I won’t wish busy on you, but I will wish a big ol’ heaping of good on ya this weekend!

****************

1. The brother is moving in today. Dun, dun, duuuuuuunnnnnnnn!

I like to say that in a foreboding way…mostly because it just makes me laugh.

In reality I’m actually pretty excited about him living here while he student teaches and think things will go along just peach-ily. (I know that’s not a word. Roll with me here.) I’ve got the guest bedroom as de-girlified as I can, rearranged the closet to make room for some of his stuff, and pulled down his salt-free spices and seasonings from the pantry.

Here’s the before pics…

And here’s the after…

I think he’ll like that much better.

He’ll be very busy with student teaching, and he’s a very chill kind of guy…so we really have nothing to be worried about. It’s probably him that should be worried about dealing with our antics. (Like when he spent the night at our house a couple of weeks ago and I locked myself out of the house at 6 a.m….poor guy woke up to me beating on his window asking him to come and let me in before the neighbors activated the crime watch.)

So good luck brotha, good luck.

******************************

2. I have two accounts on Facebook…a personal page and a professional page that I use to “friend” parents and post pictures of activities we do in class. I think I have 3 friends on that account. Probably not worth the effort, but I keep thinking one day I’ll convince the other parents that I don’t have the time or energy to cyberstalk them via FB.

Oh who am I kidding.

Anyway, I’m just here to tell ya that it feels a little weird when FB suggests myself as someone I “may know” and recommends I “friend” myself.

And it may be more than just a little sad that I chose not to.

It’s like the time the Wii Fit asked me if I had noticed an improvement in Chris’ posture. When I selected “No, not really” it in no uncertain terms told me that I probably should be spending more time with Chris.

Another sad fact? All I could think of after it said that was how I should probably stop weighing myself totally a-la-nude on the Wii.

I definitely don’t want any questions popping up on the screen about that.

***********************

3. I went to a baby shower this week for a co-worker, and as I was oohhing and aahhing over all the sweet baby things, I realized how easy it could be to get swept up into the baby fever. (*No worries, I had talked myself down from that one before the gifts were even loaded in the car.) The idea of a baby bump came back to haunt me the next day at school…as I was getting something ready to do with the kids, one of them pointed at my belly and said “Hum…I think there’s a baby in there.”

Me: “Um, no. No there’s not a baby in there.”

All other students collectively: “Hey, yeah. It does look like there’s a baby in there!”

Me: “No, no really. No baby.”

Obnoxiously rude little people who should-think-before-they-speak-because-I-can-make-their-day-very-very-bad: “But it looks like it!”

Me: “I SAID SIT DOWN AND BE QUIET BEFORE YOU CHANGE YOUR COLOR AND HAVE TO SIT OUT AT RECESS!”

Yikes. Trust me people, that’s no baby. It’s the two batches of chocolate chip cookies my husband made, the shower cake that is still sitting out in the lounge to this day, and the mini-chocolate bars that I eat at least 6 of a day because “it’s still less than a regular candy bar.”

No bueno.

****************************

4. Look at what I had for lunch.

Delish.

I’ve never made a tuna melt before, but the recipe was on the back of the package and it looked yummy. And it was!

********************************

5. I carpool to work with my partner teacher and our principal. (Sounds kind of weird, but it’s not. We don’t actually talk about school that much…) Anyway, we stopped by a garage sale and saw this little beauty.

Okay, actually it’s a not-so-beautiful-right-now-but-has-potential foot stool. I commented on how much I love fun pieces of furniture, but that I’m on a spending freeze right now and had to pass it up. (Even though it was only $3…what a bargain!)

So imagine my surprise when my friend bought it for me! So sweet right?! Now I just have to figure out how I want to recover it and such. Stay tuned for the finished product!

****************************

6. And finally, a public service announcement. If your camera ever says that it won’t do ANYTHING because the sd card is “locked,” then there is a better option than throwing it against the wall and stomping it with a pair of stilletos.

Take the sd card out of your camera, and look on the side.

See that little white switch? Next to the word lock? Push it up.

Voila.

*****************

And that’s all I got for ya…how’d ya like that?!

KEEP CALM & EH…CUT BACK ON THE SWEETS!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Scattered Saturday…decor, food, & more!

  1. Alexis

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE that colorful quilt you had on your guest bed in the before pictures!!!!!!!!!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

