‘Cause rocks don’t talk…

This past week in Sunday School our *awesomely* sweet and encouraging teacher said something that really resonated with me.

Rocks don’t talk.

Deep right? Okay, okay, maybe you need a little more background than that. We are in a study right now about leadership (as are all Southern Baptists who are using the standard Sunday School curriculum…shout out!) and we were discussing that as it relates to “vision.” As we were wrapping up the conversation about how each of us can speak God’s vision and life into others by doing three simple things…

1) Talk about what God has done for you in the past, ways He has revealed himself to you, experiences you’ve had personally

2) Talk about what God is doing in your life right now, what you are leaning on Him for, what you are learning from Him

3) Talk about what God has promised you for your future, what you are trusting him in for the coming days, and so on

The challenge given was two-fold…first, to ask God to reveal to you those things He has done, is doing, and will do (and to remember them for future reference!). Second…speak it! Have spiritual eyes and ears to see opportunities to speak of him in conversations you have with others! (And when I say you, I’m also saying me, me, me, and me. The one finger pointing at you means four are pointing back at moi.)

It was at that point that she reminded of the verse in Luke chapter 19…check out verse 40 – “I tell you, he <Jesus!> replied, if they keep quiet the rocks will cry out!” The context of this verse takes place after Jesus had performed many miracles and an entire crowd of disciples began “joyfully praising God in loud voices.”

38 “Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!”

   “Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!”

39 Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!”

<How often are told that?! We are told to be quiet, to keep our Lord’s name to ourselves, to speak any name besides Jesus…and how often do we fold in the name of “political correctness”? And yet, listen to His answer…>

40 “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

To steal a line from my teacher…”I don’t know about you, but I don’t want a rock praising God because I won’t. ‘Cause rocks don’t talk.”

Told you it was deep.

It makes me think of all those times when I’ve been to busy to either notice or praise God’s hand in my life…somewhere an inanimate, unliving object…like a ROCK of all things…gave Him the glory I chose to deny. *Tsk*Tsk* My Lord has done so much for me…shame on me for the times I fail to give Him the glory.

It also made me think of a beautiful song written and sung by Nicole Nordeman. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but she pretty much could write the soundtrack for my life. I *LOVE* all of her songs. She’ll have a post all of her own one day. But for today, let’s focus on this one song called “My Offering.” You can check out the words or click on the link to hear it performed…

My Offering
If You made me like the grass that is green
Growing tall; covering the hills above me
Maybe I would pray for sunshine and a little rain
To fall now and then to make me lovely
I could be a place where sheep could graze
Or barefoot feet could play
And I would grow and grow and hope You’d bend down low
To hear me sing my offering

Open up the heavens, open up the skies
All of Your creation wants to testify
I have a song so let the earth sing along
‘Cause I just want to praise You

If You made me to be a cloud in the sky
Found the perfect place way up high where I could hover
Maybe I would pray for skies that were blue
Or a sunset or two to show Your colors
Or maybe I might be
A mountain strong and steep
But I would try and stand as tall as I can
And I would sing my offering

Open up the heavens, open up the skies
All of Your creation wants to testify
I have a song so let the earth sing along
‘Cause I just want to praise You

And the sun every morning can not wait to shine
And the stars every evening are all standing by to light the sky
Give the rocks and the stones voices of their own
If we forget to sing praises to our King

So open up the heavens, open up the skies
All of Your creation wants to testify
Hallelujah
We just want to praise you
We just want to praise you
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
Lift up your voice and with us sing
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
I have a song so let the earth sing along
‘Cause I just want to praise You

<source: Lyrics www.allthelyrics.com/lyrics/nichole_nordeman/ >

YouTube Video: http://youtu.be/SX9P6HgOZrs

I’ve seen God’s handiwork in so many places since that conversation…in a sunset that looked like a painting, a night time lightening show, the crisp air, my husband’s smile, the giggle of a child. I pray I won’t close my eyes to the way He reveals Himself, and that I’ll lift up a praise to Him in my heart…and with my lips.

So, my dear blog friends, I’ve got big plans for ya’ll. 🙂 A post about the prayers God has answered in my life, a post about the work He is doing in my marriage right now, and many more posts about what His plans are for me. Those are yet to be written, but they aren’t totally hidden from me…I find many promises for my future when I read my bible.

‘Cause rocks don’t talk…but I can, and I will.

KEEP CALM & SPEAK ON!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “‘Cause rocks don’t talk…

  1. *Tears running down my check* Oh Sweetheart! Every time you post a blog like this, it makes me even more grateful that God chose you! He chose you to be a part of this craziness called the Thompson family. I praise Him for you! I praise Him for your mom and dad! I praise Him for Chris, finding you (now I know that Chris didn’t find you, HE did, but I still praise Him!).

    Stay close to our Lord! Teach our grandchildren about Jesus. Keep doing what you’re doing, and stay in His Word! We love you, H.!

  2. brittprobertson

    Ah, so true! Wonderful post. My Lord has done so much for me, and sometimes I keep quiet about it. What a good reminder to praise Him!

  3. Ah, so true! Wonderful post. My Lord has done so much for me, and sometimes I keep quiet about it. What a good reminder to praise Him!

  4. Re'Genna Gamblin

    WORD!!! (Did I use that right? 🙂 Thanks for a great reminder.

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

