A Proverb a Day…

Hello blog-peeps! I hope you are enjoying your Sunday as much as I am mine…good day! We had a really nice time at church today, a delicious steak lunch with my brotha, a little nap (while the brotha was here…sorry bout that), and finished up the ol’ lesson plans.

It’s a little late for a full-blown post today, so I thought I’d just give you guys some God-breathed, God-inspired words to start your week off. This past week I read a chapter from Proverbs a day to help me rise and shine, then I made the chapter my prayer for the day. Here are a few of the verses that really tugged at my heart and challenged me…

Monday: Proverbs 1

(*context: the purpose/theme of Proverbs)

1 The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel: 2 for gaining wisdom and instruction; for understanding words of insight; 3 for receiving instruction in prudent behavior, doing what is right and just and fair; 4 for giving prudence to those who are simple, knowledge and discretion to the young – 5 let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance – 6 for understanding proverbs and parables, the sayings and riddles of the wise. 7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Lord, help me to be right and just and fair. Instruct me on how to demonstrate and teach prudence, knowledge, and discretion to the young children in my class.

Tuesday: Proverbs 2

(*context: moral benefits of wisdom)

1 My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, 2 turning your ear to widom and applying your heart to understanding – 3 indeed, if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, 4 and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, 5 then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God 6 For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. 7 He holds success in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, 8 for he guards the course of the just  and protects the way of his faithful ones.

Lord, too often I do not look for your wisdome as the treasure that it is, and I have not because I ask not. I pray that the Holy Spirit would so overwhelm me with the desire to cry aloud for insight that I would spend my days storing up your commands and turning my ear to your still, small voice.

Wednesday: Proverbs 3

(*context: wisdom bestows well-being)

17 Her <wisdom> ways are pleasant ways, and all of her paths are peace. 18 She is the tree of life to those who take hold of her; those who hold her fast will be blessed.

Lord, my coworkers and students encounter so many people in their lives whose ways are not pleasant, they travel down many paths that are not peaceful. I desire to be a woman of pleasantness and peace, a teacher who can be a “tree of life” to my students, a blessing to those who come in contact with me, that through my actions You would be uplifted and glorified. Help me be pleasant. Help me be peaceful.

Thursday: Proverbs 4

(*context: get wisdom at any cost)

23 Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

Lord, when I don’t like the words I hear coming out of my mouth, the attitudes that seem to overtake me, the ugly thoughts in my mind, or the way I act, I pray that I would be reminded of this verse. Help me to seek out the areas in my life in which I need to strengthen my guard, help me to not take lightly the effect of the things I hear, read, and watch.

Friday: Proverbs 5

(*context: warning against adultry)

18 May your fountain be blessed, and may you rejoice in the wife of your youth. 19 A loving doe, a graceful deer – may her breasts satisfy you always, may you ever be intoxicated with her love.

Lord, in the hustle and bustle of busy days and the anxiety that comes witha new school year, it is so easy to take things out on my husband rather than to rejoice in him. Let me be ever-giving of grace to him, just as you’ve been to me…let me uplift him, satisfied in him, and intoxicated with him.

***********

I hope your upcoming week is a blessed one! I’d love to add you to my morning prayer time, so if you’d like to leave me a personal message you can always e-mail me at keepcalmandloveon@hotmail.com

KEEP CALM & BE BLESSED

Categories: Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

