Dr. Suess’ Words of Wisdom

(*Note: If you are noticing the time I posted this, then don’t judge me. 🙂 I’m uploading it during conference because I totally forgot this morning. No kids were neglected during the uploading of this post.)

*******************

Dr. Suess was one wise dude.

There’s a lot we can learn from him, a lot of thinks he can make us think. So join me won’t you, we’ll be done in a blink! 🙂

<I found all of these Dr. Seuss quotes at this source …there’s many more, so check it out if you want!>

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living.”  –> Maybe this is why Kindergarteners are so full of life…they live constantly in this fantastical world, and TRUST ME, they are very awake. 😛

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”   –> I really like this one, because I am such a big believer of teaching kids to take personal responsibility for their choices. Gotta start teaching them young!

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”  –> I love this one because…I love books!
“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.”   –> When I read this one I practically shouted “Amen!” Chris is definitely my kind of weird, and I am so glad that I can be my weird self around him!

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!”  –> I’m going to try and start claiming this one…it’s a much stronger approach to dealing with problems. (Whereas I usually tend to worry and fret.) Watch out troubles!!

“I meant what I said and I said what I meant. An elephant’s faithful one-hundred percent!” –> This one I’m going to memorize and repeat back to my Kindergarteners everytime they don’t listen to me and end up in trouble. 😛 But maybe I’ll change elephant to teacher…don’t want any elephant jokes being made about me!

“Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.”  –> I plan on teaching this quote to my kids so that we can repeat it together each afternoon before we leave. So cute!

“So the writer who breeds more words than he needs, is making a chore for the reader who reads.”  –> Yikes! I’m probably guilty of this one. 😛

“Today I shall behave, as if this is the day I will be remembered.”  –> I have been reminded (many more times than I would have liked to) this past year that we are just never promised tomorrow. I want to live in a way, update my Facebook status in a way, blog in a way that would leave me in a positive light if it were to be my last. Sounds a little silly, but it’s really true if you think about it. And even beyond mortality, you never know how your behavior (either good or bad) might impact someone in such a strong way that they remember it from then on. So behave people!

My fav Dr. Seuss book is “Oh The Thinks You Can Think”…what’s yours?

KEEP CALM & DR. SEUSS ON!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

