Dinner + Paint = Fun Party!

T.G.I.F! This is my last free Friday before it’s officially back to work time, so of course that only means one thing.

I’m doing my darndest to make my tushy impression as deep in the couch as I can before summer is over.

It’s going pretty well so far. 🙂

I did take a break from that endeavor last night, because I was invited to a FABULOUS painting party by my sweet friend teacher K. She was truly the hostess with the mostess…had a tasty dinner ready, fresh salad, Chicken E sweet tea, pretty paper plates (fashionable and functional!), and our favorite vino. She also bought our canvases, paint, and brushes AND put together this lovely centerpiece to set the mood!

Fresh flowers and floating candles in beautiful glass votives. It was too much. She shouldn’t have gone to all that trouble. (But I’m glad she did!) You should know that every visit to K’s house is like escaping to a spa. She has created this completely soothing, peaceful, clean & great smelling environment, with beautiful little touches everywhere you look. Definitely the perfect place for a relaxing, girly get together.

Her inspiration (I think anyway) for the paint party came from my bachelorette party! We went to a place called “Painting with a Twist” where an instructor helps everyone in the class create a work of art. It was…interesting. (But definitely in a good way!) In the end it was so much fun to see how each girl’s personality came through in her painting & how they all looked different event though they were the same.

And so the idea for the paint party was born. 🙂 Our little “dinner group” hasn’t been able to get together much this summer, so I’m really glad K found a way to get us all coordinated. We ate WAY to much lasagna, laughed, talked about summer travels & upcoming school to-do’s (we’re all teachers), and I gifted everyone with a piece of teacher subway art (stay tuned for a post about subway art…it’s super fun!) and a little “Keep Calm” poster that couldn’t have been more perfect.

I just heard the “Amens” of every teacher reading this. You know how it goes.

After food and gifts, it was time to set up & pump the jams (which included Taylor Swift, Rascall Flatts, & N’Sync) & start putting paint on the canvas! Instead, this is really what it looked like…

There is something very intimidating about a blank canvas. Since no one knew what they wanted to paint, we turned to our iPhones for inspiration. Gotta love technology! I’m not going to show you guys which paintings we were looking at, because we made them our own…and ours are all that matter! 😉

Here we go! My blank canvas…

I was the first one to start putting paint on the canvas…eeek! It took a lot of blending & color mixing, but I finally got my sky exactly the way I wanted it. I did that whole sky using only red, yellow, and white…and obviously I used green for the grass.

I loved my background so much that I was even MORE nervous to start painting the tree. You can understand that right?! But, before I show you guys how my tree turned out, let’s check in on how my frands (*to be pronounced with a southern twang) are doing on theirs…

J meticulously painting zebra stripes…

K adding details to her very detailed painting…

P adding the first couple of circles to her abstract work of art…

Then (after much prompting and cheerleading from the girls) I painted my tree…

Yay! I love it!

And then they had to cheer me on again when it was time to pain the circles on my “whimsy tree.”

What can I say. Sometimes I get a little unsure of myself and experience temporary paralysis.

In the end, I couldn’t have been happier or more proud of my painting.

Look at that ma! I did it all on my own! 🙂

But I wasn’t the only one with a masterpiece…everyone had works of art to be proud of.

The “finished” group…

The “not-finished-yet-but-will-finish-soon” group…

I give us all an A+ … and I give K bonus credit for throwing such a great party to send our summer off in style. Thanks again girl!

KEEP CALM & PAINT ON!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

