*knock,knock* Housekeeping!

So I don’t know if you heard or not…but school is starting soon. Which means this teacher is going back to work. Today.

Bluh.

I’m a little uncertain as to what this means for my blog. Before you start the weeping and gnashing of teeth, let me assure you that I’m not going anywhere. I definitely want to keep posting, and I’ve been working over the past few days to prepare ready-to-go posts for days that are super busy or when I’m super tired. I’m thinking my future posts probably won’t be so wordy, but no promises. We’ll just stay on this ride & see where it goes. 🙂 (Have I said thank you to all my readers lately? Hum…I didn’t think so. Well THANK YOU for subscribing and reading and commenting…you guys make my blog go ’round!)

So I decided to take some time and continue updating my blog…I’m getting a lot of great ideas from all my fellow bloggers. Here are a few of the changes I’ve made…

Call Me! Tab

I only really want you to call me if I actually know you and we’ve exchanged phone numbers. Otherwise I want you to click on this tab and e-mail me at my shiny new e-mail address. I apologize for faking you out with the title.

Blog Buttons

I really, really want a button of my own…but I haven’t figured it out yet. It requires some coding and I need to butter my husband up so that I can get some help. BUT, I did go ahead and add a couple of buttons from blogs I like to check out…you can click on their button and it will send you directly to their page! (And if you are a fellow blogger with a button, get in touch with me & I’ll add it!)

Kind Hearted Blogger Pledge

I first saw this pledge on a blog found at http://www.so–hi.blogspot.com/ (yep – I’ve got her button! It’s the one with the ‘stache!) Anyway, I loved the sentiment of this pledge, so I decided to take it myself. I found the official pledge at http://emjayandme.blogspot.com/2010/07/kind-hearted-blogger-campaign.html …another fun blog!

As you read it, please picture me holding my right hand in the air, while my left hand rests on a laptop. I should have a serious, yet soft look on my face. And I should probably be sitting on the couch, because that’s where I blog from.

AS A KIND-HEARTED BLOGGER I PLEDGE TO:

  • create, inspire, and admire rather than compete with fellow bloggers
  • be understanding of each other– in the blogging community, as well as in
    the world
  • stay away from internet/blogging bullying
  • speak my opinion freely, while still being mindful of other’s feelings– be tactful.
  • make an effort–no matter how big or small the gesture, to spread kindness
    or joy to others
  • acknowledge that I will make mistakes, (I am only human) but remember to
    learn from them
  • know that at times I will post about the negative stuff in life, and maybe
    even some complaining (I am only human) but I will always follow up with
    something happy/positive too.
  • believe that this world is a good place, filled with good people.

New Member of BlogHer.com

Again, in all my recent blog-surfing (and trust me, there has been A LOT of that lately), I’ve seen the name BlogHer come up over and over again, so I decided to check it out. I’m sure I’ve barely scratched the surface of what it is, but it looks like a forum for bloggers to chat & learn & share blogs…the possibilities seem endless! So of course I had to sign my own little blog up…I’m considering this as my “professional development.” I hope being a part of BlogHer will help me continue to update and develop keepcalmandloveon, so be ready for more good times to come!

And yes, for the over-achievers of the group, I’ve also added BlogHers button…click on it to check it out for yourself!

(*If you know anything about BlogHer, send me an e-mail & let me know what’s up. I’d love some insiders tips!)

Soon to come: Links & Linking Up

Chris is going to give me a lesson on hyper-linking so that I can link former posts back to this one…and from there I’m going to start linking up to other people’s posts. It should make for added hours of mindless blog reading. You’ll love me for it.

****************************

If you have any suggestions or helpful tips for me, I’d love to hear from you! You can leave a comment below. (Have I mentioned lately that I love comments? Because I LOVE COMMENTS. I check my e-mail like every hour on the hour to see if anyone comments. So throw me a bone here.)

Also, in honor of a new month & the start of school (why not?!) I’m thinking of having another blog contest…anyone interested?

KEEP CALM & UPDATE ON!

Categories: Blog Business | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “*knock,knock* Housekeeping!

  1. alexis

    You crack me up!!! And inspire me to want to start a blog, but I’m not as witty nor do I think I have as many ideas to blog about as you do!!

    • I was afraid I would run out of ideas, but inspiration strikes me in weird ways! 🙂 If you keep thinking that you want to start one, then you should go for it! Even if you just blog a few times a week…it’s a great hobby and way to document your life. I bet you’d be better at it than you think!

  2. I’m so new at this whole blogging thing too! And I can’t figure out for the life of me how to use all of the fancy stuff! I wanted to get a button too, but have no clue how to do so. And I’ve been reading up on Blogher too, and I would love to get there someday! i have zero insider tips on blogging. If you figure out any cool tips/tricks, let me know! I guess I need to spend some time reading up on all of this stuff, but I tend to get lost in all the computer jargon! Best of luck as school starts back: )

    • Agh the tech stuff is too much for me! As soon as my hubby helps me figure out the button thing I’ll pass it on to you. My mother-in-law has a blog and she figured out away to put a picture slideshow on it…so that’s on my list of things to learn as well. BlogHer is a little overwhelming…I’m afraid now that school is starting my blog-research time is going to be cut WAY back. 😛 All the fanciness aside, I think we’ve got fun blogs to read..and that’s what really matters right?!

  3. kelli

    I could totally see you making your blog pledge! 🙂

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

