Build-A-Bear? Yes Please!

Hey hey! More fun for today’s post…I’m loving the way my summer is wrapping up! 🙂

*******************************

It’s actually really appropriate that my first trip to Build-A-Bear came close to the end of the summer, because it’s tied into something that happened at the beginning of the summer. Not exactly a full circle moment, but it was definitely about tying up some loose ends and making a happy memory out of something sad.

Many of you will remember that my grandma, Pappy, passed away somewhat unexpectedly at the beginning of June. We were very close, I loved her very much, and I still really miss her.

As we were going through the beaded jewelry she had made, I found a couple of pretty necklace/bracelet sets for little girls. It breaks my heart that my future children will never get to meet her (here on earth anyway), but an idea started to form in my mind.

I decided to keep the jewelry, in the hopes that one day I’ll have a little girl of my own I can give it to. It was then that I got the idea to build a bear in memory of my Pappy; something I can hold when I’m feeling sad, something my children can cuddle with as I tell them about her.

And so, a couple of days ago, Mom went with me to make my build-a-bear dreams come true. 🙂

At first I felt a little weird about going in there and making a bear. I went so far as to consider borrowing a random child from the mall just so I wouldn’t look out of place. Mom basically just told me to get over it…and I’m glad I did, because we had a really sweet time….and none of the employees acted like we were weirdos. 😛

Join me as I build “Mariposa”…Pappy’s bear.

Step 1. Pick a bear skin…I chose this lovely honey colored beauty because she had a little shimmer.

Step 2. Add a sound…she’ll say “I love you!” when you squeeze her left paw.

Step 3. Add some stuffing…I got to help!

Step 4. Add some love…this part made me teary!

(You had to rub the heart on different parts of your body…on your ears so that your bear will be a good listener, on your heart so it will be full of love, on your cheek for lots of smiles, etc. I don’t remember it all, but it was very sweet & reminded me that the memory of my Pappy will always be something I can hold in my heart. Mom got to put in a heart as well, so it was a special moment.)

Step 5. Air bath time…how cute is that?!

Step 6. Choose an outfit…not an easy task!

(*I chose this outfit because of the butterfly. Pappy loved all things in nature, and her favorite Spanish word was “mariposa,” which means butterfly. This dress seemed perfect!)

Step 7. Be a lady…wear panties

Step 8. Create a Birth Certificate…welcome to the world Mariposa!

Step 9. Boxed up & ready to go home

Step 10. Accessorize with Pappy’s jewelry & settle in!

***The Build-A-Bear Philosophy***

*************************************************

Wasn’t that just lovely? I really enjoyed the whole experience, and it was kind of therapeutic for me. Oh yes, and I got all that for only $30! I would definitely recommend it, and I hope I’ll get to go again one day. (Maybe with a certain little girl who has a birthday this fall? Hum…)

Thanks for going with me Momma…don’t you think Pappy would have loved to hear all about it? I know she’d think Mariposa was so cute…I can just almost picture the smile she would have had if she’d seen it! 🙂

KEEP CALM & BUILD-A-BEAR ON!!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Build-A-Bear? Yes Please!

  1. How special! I pray that someday my grandchildren will think of me as you do your Pappy. I look forward to seeing how my future relationship with my future grandson/daughter unfolds. What a cute, cute idea! Much love!

  2. That is such an awesome idea! I love it. My great grandmother passed away a couple of years ago, and I think that would be a wonderful idea to do with my son. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • I know you would really enjoy it…and just think, you wouldn’t have to borrow a random kid from the mall – you’ve already got one to take with you! 😉

  3. Mom

    I enjoyed the experience too, and definitely had to hold back the tears…Pappy would like that alot. I miss her too, but contiue to work at remembering the sweet times. Love ya dear.

  4. Persnickety Hall

    That is a wonderful idea. Hugs to you and your family hun. I lost my Mamah almost 5 years ago and little things remind me of her all the time. I may have to steal your idea and make a bear for her too. 😉

    • Thank you girl, I appreciate your kind words. I’m trying my best to just focus on the sweet memories, the bear helped with that. If you get a chance to do it, make sure you post pics!

  5. You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the time follow your heart. “In America, through pressure of conformity, there is freedom of choice, but nothing to choose from.” by Peter Ustinov.

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

