*boo*hiss*spit on the ground*

Rise and Shine blog friends! As usual, Hux is up bright and early…I think his diabolical plan is to make sure I never get to sleep in again.

I tried reasoning with him, tried telling him that it’s my last week of summer, that I really need this, that I would reward him with more bacon than he could ever dream of…but he held firm to his resolve. And so here we are. (Has anyone else noticed that reasoning never works with him?)

And yes. That’s right. I said it. It’s my last week of summer.

(*boo*hiss*spit on the ground*)

Now before you get all judgy on me, let me assure you that I love my job, I recognize how blessed I am to have a job right now, and there is a part of me that is looking forward to getting back to work.

But there is that other part of me, the part that enjoys traveling and hanging out with Hux and literally accomplishing next to nothing on at least every third day that is digging in its heels and wanting to avoid the inevitable.

I’ve been starting to think about school for the past couple of weeks. I planned & shopped for my theme (pandas!), made a teacher facebook account where parents can ‘friend’ me, and started what will become the world’s longest to-do list. All that was fine and dandy…not really feeling the pressure. I even made plans to go back to work on August 1st, figuring that would give me a couple of weeks to come and go as I pleased before inservice started. I had grand illusions in my mind of getting my classroom all set up, everything labeled, plans made, with plenty of time left over to catch up with coworkers and eat leisurely lunches at the cafe. (And yes, I planned to get there mid-morning and leave mid-afternoon.)

That WAS the plan. Until yesterday.

I realized that I didn’t actually know when school officially started, so I did a little searching and was NOT happy with what I saw.

Kids come back on August 22nd. (That’s a little earlier than I had in my mind…) Teacher inservice starts on Friday, August 12. (Okay I guess I can handle that…) But the kicker is that I need to complete 3 additional workshop days that I wasn’t able to attend over the summer. So that means I’ll be going back on Tuesday, August 9th.

Which means I will have exactly one week to have my days all to myself, to get my classroom as ready as possible (and it takes a lot of work to get a Kindergarten room ready, just let me tell ya…) , before I have to start reporting to meetings. So long leisure. So long late arrivals & long lunches & early departures. So long to easing back into work.

Then, as if I wasn’t feeling wound-up enough after that little discovery, I decided to prepare my mind a bit more by looking around at the educational blogs out there. (For those of you new to blog-land, there are A LOT of teacher blogs out there, and they seem to increase exponentially as the grades go down.)

I’m not sure if this was the best idea or not, given my present state of mind. You should know that my background with edu blogs is this:

1) I’ve never understood how these teachers have time to take care of their families, give all they can to their classrooms, and maintain these just crazy-with-information edu blogs. I don’t doubt that they do all of those things, I just don’t understand how.

2) I usually feel pretty good about myself as a teacher…until I go on these blogs. Then I start to feel completely inadequate, like I am a cookie-cutter teacher and their mold is one of a kind.

So we can all probably agree that I’m a glutton for punishment, because I spent most of the day yesterday toggling back and forth between this kinder blog and that kinder blog.

As I looked around, something pretty magical started to happen. I began to realize that I already do a lot of the things that they are doing. That I buy the same things from the Target dollar aisle that they do. That I have some ideas that would be worth sharing.

Once I broke through that wall of inadequacy, I became much more open to what tips they have to offer. The longer I searched, the longer my to-do list grew to be…and I’m excited to try some new things. I guess I just needed the mental reminder that I don’t have to do everything they suggest in blog-land…but if I can take an idea or two and implement them successfully in my classroom, then I’ve done a good thing.

With that frame of mind, maybe I’m not so worried about school after all. I made it through my first year of Kinder, so this will be the year I get to really stretch my wings more and try some new things, fix a few problems, and work towards mastering my craft. I do have some innovative new ideas to try, and once I get in the groove I typically thrive in the hustle and bustle environment of an elementary school. And since I’ll be in the same classroom as last year, setting up will be much easier than it was before…one week should be plenty of time.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest & worked through my feelings here with you guys, I think I’m ready to enjoy my last official week of summer. I’ll soak it up, then when August 1st rolls around I’ll be in a happy place & ready to tackle another year of teaching. So with that being said…I’ve gotta run – summer is calling my name!

KEEP CALM & GET YOUR SUMMER ON!

P.S. – I can hardly believe it, but this will be my 5th year of teaching…time really does fly!

Categories: Daily Drama, Krazy for Kinder | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “*boo*hiss*spit on the ground*

  1. I know you’ll do a fine job, as you always do. Remember “Seek first the Kingdom of God and All these things will be added unto you”. Put Him first, and you’ll get everything done that He has planned for you 🙂

    Have a great last week of summer! Love ya!

  2. What grade do you teach? I went back to school last year and got my teaching certification. I’m planning on student teaching in the spring!

    • I taught 2nd grade for 3 years and this will be my 2nd year in Kindergarten…so I’m elementary all the way! 🙂 I do love it, even though getting the umph to get back into the routine is troubling me a little bit right now! 🙂 What grades will you be certified in?

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

