Challenge: Six Degrees of Separation

Six degrees of separation refers to the idea that everyone is on average approximately six steps away from any other person on Earth, so that a chain of, “a friend of a friend” statements can be made, on average, to connect any two people in six steps or fewer. (Wikipedia)

Interesting idea right?!

Once Chris and I met, we were able to connect ourselves within one degree of separation…he was dating a girl I knew from college (while I knew her!)

It’s that whole “small world” idea…I’m sure we can all think of a time when we were out of town and randomly met “a friend of a friend.” Or even better (as long as it’s not happening to you) when someone goes on a date, only to realize later that they are somehow related to the other person. (I actually heard a true story about that not long ago…and if YOU have a story about that I would love to hear it. Really!)

So today I’ve decided to extend a little “six degrees of separation” challenge to you guys.

I’m really trying to make a go of this blog thing, so I’ve been doing a little research about how to make that happen. Since word-of-mouth can be a great way to bring more visitors to the site, and I’ve got some pretty mouthy subscribers (and I mean that in the nicest way possible…honestly!) I decided to come up with a contest.

Here’s the gameplan:

1) You (the reader) tell your friends about the site…via e-mail, facebook, etc.

2) Ask them to leave a comment saying that you referred them

3) The person with the most referrals wins a prize!

Yay! See where the six degrees of separation come in? If all 15 of my subscribers told only 6 people just imagine the spider-web of connections that would be made…talk about networking!

And since I hopefully pricked your ears by dangling the “prize” carrot in front of you, I’ll go ahead and reveal what you’ll win. Whoever has the most referrals (with a minimum of 6…think 6 degrees of separation!) gets to choose a book from my post a few days ago and I’ll have Amazon ship it right to ya! Oohhh, and I’d like to add a new one to the list…”Heaven is For Real” by Todd Burpo. It is just incredible. Maybe I’ll dedicate a whole post to it later.

But back to the contest. There is one more thing you should know…something to up the stakes a little. One name is synonymous with 6 degrees of separation…Kevin Bacon. (Seriously. Google it.) SO, if anyone can use their power of 6 to get Kevin Bacon to comment on my blog, you will receive an entire bacon-themed gift basket in the mail. (*See “Brining Home the Bacon” post.) Impossible? Nah. Im-probable? Yeah I’ll give ya that. But there’s no harm in having a little fun with this.

On your mark…get set…Go! Contest will end at 12 p.m. tomorrow. I’ve included a few one-liners you can copy & paste into your facebook status, as well as the link to the site. Thanks for your help, hope you have fun with this! (And I hope it works…at least throw me a few bones and respond in some way. Pretty please?!)

KEEP CALM & REFER ON!

Hey FB Friends…check out this blog a friend of mine is writing. Comment that I referred you and help me win a prize! http://keepcalmandlovon.wordpress.com

This crazy girl with a blog won’t leave me alone. Go check it out & comment that I sent you so that she’ll back off! https://keepcalmandloveon.wordpress.com

I’m trying to win a six-degrees of separation contest! Click on this link, comment on the post, and say that I referred you! https://keepcalmandloveon.wordpress.com

I’ve been reading this blog and it is so __________! My favorite post is _________. Check it out at https://keepcalmandloveon.wordpress.com

then comment and say that I referred you!

Categories: Blog Business | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Challenge: Six Degrees of Separation

  1. Rebecca

    On our first real date, my hubby and I were walking on the beach and we were talking about our favorite places we’ve ever been. I started talking about Africa and mentioned a friend of mine named Matt. My husband started describing him to me. I started freaking out. Matt was my last “not-boyfriend” boyfriend before my husband, and Matt’s sister was the only other girl Brad had ever bought an engagement ring for…seven years earlier. So weird! {Oh, and nobody referred me…I came from the comment you wrote on my blog} Have a great night!

  2. Lynn

    Love your fab idea!!!

  3. Kathleen

    Aunt Re’Genna referred me!! (Technically you referred me since I’ve been reading your blog since the very first post, but I want her to win the prize! Is that cheating???)

  4. That IS weird Rebecca…but it sounds like it worked out well for you after all! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    Lynn…thanks girl – that baby of yours sure is cute!

    Kat…ssshhhh – I won’t tell! 🙂

  5. Great idea! Hope this goes well for you!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

