Sshhhh…don’t tell my bathroom scales!

Good evening all! Thanks for enduring my lengthy, kind of heavy post yesterday. Today’s will be shorter, fluffier, and much sweeter.

Krispy Kreme anyone?!

Just a couple of blocks from our hotel in Lubbock was a Krispy Kreme, and we had been eyeing it all weekend. One glance was all it took to seal the unspoken agreement between us that we would be stopping there before we left town, so I knew exactly where Chris was going when we got in the car this morning.

In my morning daze I didn’t even think to pay attention to whether or not the “hot now” sign was on or not. (For those of you who aren’t familiar with Krispy Kreme, if the sign in the window is on, then you get a free, hot doughnut when you walk in the door.) Well luckily for us, it was. What a pleasant surprise & way to start the morning!

There isn’t much in life that compares to one of those fresh, hot, right off the assembly line doughnuts. They literally melt in your mouth. I’m going crazy just thinking about it.

<I wish there was a Krispy Kreme in Weatherford…I’m wishing I could take the Kindergarteners there for a field trip. They could see how the doughnuts are made, I could eat lots of doughnuts…it’s win/win really…>

Once we had the original in our bellies, we were ready to get creative with our actual purchase. Half a dozen, split evenly between us = probably more sugar than we should eat in a week. Once we added glazes and toppings it was probably more sugar than we should eat in a month!

I went with maple glazed, lemon, and good ol’ chocolate glazed. Chris went with chocolate glaze, chocolate with sprinkles, and something else that must have been good…because it was gone before I took this picture!

Glorious….just glorious. Chris was pretty pumped himself; from the hat to the free doughnuts to all the sugary goodness, he was in doughnut heaven! He really wanted to try their new “cookies & cream” inspired doughnut, but said he could feel his teeth rotting just thinking about it, so he decided against it. Probably a good choice.

The rest of the day has been just about that sweet. We had a nice car ride home, full of singing at the top of my lungs/car dancing (that was me)…and napping. (That was Chris.) When we got home, my Mom & brother were waiting at our house with Huxley & Mom had a yummy lunch ready and waiting for us! We visited for a while before they left, then it was nap, puppy playing, leftovers, walk, puppy bath, and blogging to wrap up the day. I’ve decided that if I had Krispy Kreme for breakfast every morning then “Good Morning” would take on a whole new meaning. 🙂 What do you think about that idea Chris?

That’s exactly what I thought. He’s totally on board.

I hope the rest of you get to eat a “HOT NOW!” Krispy Kreme doughnut this summer…add it to your to-do list. Heck, add it to your bucket list – they are that good.

KEEP CALM & KRISPY KREME ON!

P.S. – Check out how handsome my husband looked at the wedding he was in…

P.S.S. – Think Huxley missed me much?!

(This would be cute if he wasn’t PASSING GAS while he was curled up here. Seriously. And it smells BAD.)

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sshhhh…don’t tell my bathroom scales!

  1. Mom

    For the most part I think it is okay to create bucket lists from the many wonderful things you have already done, with just a few that you haven’t…..(like go to Europe, marry the love of your life, be a Mommy, see the Grand Canyodrin, etc). That way whenever you reach end the end of your life, your list will be mostly done….in light of that opionion…I’m adding eating a fresh hot crispy creme donut, and driving a sporty car in my 50’s to my list!

  2. I agree! You’ve got a pretty good list going on!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

