Jesus…There’s just something about that name…

Today we had the service & burial for my sweet Pappy…everything was beautiful, and I felt the strength of the Lord that came from the prayers of faithful friends & family. Instead of using my own words today, I’d like to return the blessings that have been given to me and give you scripture tonight. It is so awesome to know that my Pappy has met the One who breathed these words?

John 14:3 (* in red letters) – “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me, that you also may be where I am.” …Thank you Jesus! Thank you for coming personally to take my Pappy to her Father. It is so comforting to know that He came for her, just as I know He’ll come for me…

Matthew 5:13 – “You are the salt of the earth…” …This was the verse given by my Momma to describe Pappy, and it was the basis for her service today. She seasoned the lives of her family and friends with the love of Christ, and I am so thankful for that!

1 Thess 4:13 – “And now, dear brothers and sisters, we want you to know what will happen to the believers who have died so you will not grieve like people who have no hope.” …This came to me today as it was time to say that last goodbye. Although I mourn the loss of my Pappy and miss her so so much, I could smile and find hope in the knowledge that I will see her again one day in Heaven.

Romans 10:13 – “For whoever will call upon the name of the Lord will be saved…” My Pappy accepted Christ has her Savior many, many years ago. On Friday she called on His name for the last time, and He answered her call. Praise Him, Praise Him, with tears in my eyes I Praise Him!!

And finally, 1 John 5:11 – “And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.” I pray that each of you reading this has accepted the gift of eternal life through Jesus Christ. If you haven’t, I would love the opportunity to share with you what this gift has meant to me and how to receive it.

Much love to each of you, much love to my Pappy, and above all, much love & thankfulness to my Lord, Jesus Christ.

KEEP CALM & PRAISE JESUS ON!

Categories: Lovin' the Lord | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Jesus…There’s just something about that name…

  1. Debbie Thompson

    Sweetest word written today! We love you!

  2. mandy hollifield

    She would be so proud of you. You are carrying on the legacy that she gave to you. Hold tight to that and to Jesus. God will bless you for it! What a powerful testimony your Pappy is through you. Love ya girl!

  3. Pingback: A special birthday wish… « keepcalmandloveon

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

