The Witch is in the ‘Kitch…

Got another crock-pot recipe coming at ya today…I’ve been waiting to post it until we got a chance to try it out for ourselves.

Verdict is: Pretty good!

It’s for crock-pot lasagna, and I found it in the book “Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook: Feasting with your Slow Cooker.” Between this particular cook book and Pinterest I’m becoming quite adventerous in the kitchen. Not quite sure why that makes me a witch, but it rhymed so I went with it.

Here’s what you’ll need:

8 lasagna noodles, uncooked

1 lb. of ground beef

1 tsp. Italian seasoning

28 oz. jar of spaghetti sauce

1/3 cup water

15 oz. ricotta cheese

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

4 oz. can sliced mushrooms (if you want!)

Here’s what to do:

1. Break noodles. Place half in bottom of greased slow cooker.

2. Brown ground beef in saucepan. Drain. Stir in Italian seasoning. Spread half over noodles in slow cooker.

3. Layer half of sauce and water, half of mushrooms, half of ricotta cheese, and half of mozzarella cheese over beef. Repeat layers.

4. Cover. Cook on low for 5 hours.

Here’s how to enjoy it:

I warmed up a little Texas Toast (Yes. Warmed up. If you want the recipe then go to the frozen food aisle of Wal-Mart and throw a box in your cart.) I also got creative with a side of asparagus…also pretty yummy. You can get the recipe by clicking on the link below the picture, but I didn’t really follow that recipe. I…improvised.

Here’s my basic recipe:

- take your asparagus

- roll each spear in egg whites

- then roll each spear in a mixture of parmesan cheese & shake-n-bake “italian and herb” seasoning

- bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes

Hey, whatever works!

<source>

So I hope you get a chance to give it a try…make sure you let me know how it goes! I’m always looking for ways to improve what I cook, so if you’ve got any thoughts send ‘em my way.

Before you run off to the grocery store to buy what you’ll need for the lasagna, I’ve got a feeling you might want to go check out my mother-in-law’s blog. In some of her internet searches she came across how to cook a pumpkin in a crock-pot, and now she’s baggies full of pumpkin in her fridge just waiting to be made into yummy treats. Come on…you know you want to try it. I know I do!

http://doingtheblogthingy.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/fresh-pumpkin/

KEEP CALM & CROCK POT ON!

Categories: Daily Drama | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Witch is in the ‘Kitch…

  1. LOL ~ Hey thanks for the “shout”. For you readers, the pumpkin puree is so easy and it’ll keep in the freezer for a long time! Only difficult part about this process is cutting and seeding the pumpkin! It’s a little tough, but once you’ve achieved it, you’ll be amazed!

    I’m sure my son was in hog heaven with the lasagna! And the asparagus looks divine!

KEEP CALM & COMMENT ON!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

